John Ellsworth is an American author and former trial lawyer who writes the popular Thaddeus Murfee series of books. A lot of the stories in his books are drawn from his real life. For instance, in the book his lawyers have airplanes as when he was a practicing lawyer his firm had a plane that they used to travel from Chicago to Arizona.

Ellsworth worked as a trial lawyer and were mostly criminal cases, he even worked first chair on some capital murder charges. He would also defend white collar crimes and tax crimes were a specialty. Eventually, he got tired of being exhausted by the high stress life of being a trial lawyer and decided to give a try at writing books.

Get notified when John Ellsworth releases a new book at

Publication Order of Michael Gresham Books

The Lawyer (2016)Description / Buy at
The Defendant's Father / Secrets Girls Keep (2016)Description / Buy at
The Law Partners (2016)Description / Buy at
Voices In The Walls / Carlos the Ant and Jane Doe 235 (2016)Description / Buy at
Sakharov the Bear (2016)Description / Buy at
Annie's Verdict / The Hydra-Shok Verdict (2017)Description / Buy at
Dead Lawyer on Aisle 11 (2017)Description / Buy at
30 Days of Justis (2018)Description / Buy at
Lies She Never Told Me (2018)Description / Buy at
The Fifth Justice (2018)Description / Buy at
Girl, Under Oath (2021)Description / Buy at
Mother, Under Oath (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Annie the Profiler Books

Annie's Verdict / The Hydra-Shok Verdict (2017)Description / Buy at
Dead Lawyer on Aisle 11 (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Historical Fiction Books

Unspeakable Prayers (2015)Description / Buy at
The Point of Light (2019)Description / Buy at
No Trivial Pursuit (2020)Description / Buy at
God Save the Spy (2020)Description / Buy at
Your Face In The Stars (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Nine Lives Books

Full Metal Jury (2022)Description / Buy at
The Redemption Manuscript (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sisters In Law Books

Court Order / Frat Party (2015)Description / Buy at
Hellfire (2015)Description / Buy at
The District Attorney (2021)Description / Buy at
Justice in Time (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Spies In The Rose Garden Books

Lawyers in Gray (2021)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Grade Spy (With: Ellis Ellsworth) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Thaddeus Murfee Legal Thrillers Books

The Defendants (2014)Description / Buy at
Beyond a Reasonable Death (2014)Description / Buy at
Attorney at Large (2014)Description / Buy at
Chase, the Bad Baby (2014)Description / Buy at
Defending Turquoise (2014)Description / Buy at
The Mental Case (2014)Description / Buy at
The Girl Who Wrote The New York Times Bestseller (2015)Description / Buy at
The Trial Lawyer (2015)Description / Buy at
A Young Lawyer's Story / Thaddeus Murfee (2016)Description / Buy at
The Near Death Experience (2018)Description / Buy at
Flagstaff Station (2018)Description / Buy at
The Crime (2019)Description / Buy at
La Jolla Law (2019)Description / Buy at
The Post Office (2020)Description / Buy at
The Contract Lawyer (2020)Description / Buy at
RICO Rocky (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Empty Place at the Table (2017)Description / Buy at
The Casting Couch (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Hunt for Thaddeus Murfee (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

No Direction Home (2023)Description / Buy at

Note: A Young Lawyer’s Story was originally titled Thaddeus Murfee.

If You Like John Ellsworth Books, You’ll Love…

John Ellsworth Synopses: The first book in the Thaddeus Murfee series is A Young Lawyer’s Story. It features young Thaddeus getting his first job out of college as an assistant to the U.S. Attorney. He doesn’t know much about his new job, but he does know that there is a U.S. Attorney selling government secrets. He likes his new boss though and he even has a daughter that he’d like to introduce Thaddeus to. His first job out of school and he’s spying on his boss.

Another popular series from Ellsworth is Michael Gresham and the first book in that series has the same name. It’s about an older attorney who feels like he might be getting too old for this line of work. He defends a man accused of murdering a judge’s wife, but then that same judge is seeking him out for legal counsel. Problems in his real life tie in to as he has a brother wanted dead and an ex-wife who wants him to pay for her fertility costs.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of John Ellsworth Books

3 Responses to “Order of John Ellsworth Books”

  1. carol dianne black-nixon: 2 years ago

    cannot find the book full metal jury. love books not kindle.


    • Graeme: 2 years ago

      For health reasons he has taken a bit of a break from writing it sounds like. Last I heard was in February he said it is coming soon.


      • Kerby Keefe: 2 years ago

        I also cannot find Mother Under Oath and A Jury called Alaska. I love books because kindle gives me a headache .


Leave a Reply