Robert Bailey is the author of the popular McMurtrie and Drake Legal Thrillers which clearly draw from his real life. In the books, the lawyers are from Alabama where they deal with some major cases. In Bailey’s own life, he graduated from the University of Alabama with a law degree and went to work in his hometown of Huntsville, Alabama as a civil defense attorney.

Bailey grew up as a big fan of stories, usually reading the ones about the prolific Alabama football coach “Bear” Bryant. So naturally when he went to college at the University of Alabama, he managed to attend just about every home football game they had during his tenure while still competing on the school’s trial team. His books have been endorsed by Winston Groom, author of Forest Gump.

Publication Order of McMurtie & Drake Books

The Professor(2014) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
Between Black and White(2015) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
The Last Trial(2018) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price
The Final Reckoning(2019) Best Hardcover PriceBest Paperback PriceBest Kindle Price

If You Like Robert Bailey Books, You’ll Love…

The Professor is the first book in the McCurtie and Drake series and it refers to Professor Thomas Jackson McCurtie. In the first book, he is the former mentor of young, headstrong lawyer Rick Drake. A blow-up between the two ends McCurtie’s career as a law professor and he’s left unsure of what to do next. When Drake, now a lawyer, has a tough case and realizes that there is only man who can help him: his former mentor, Professor McCurtie. Can these two make amends in the name of justice?

Bailey follows that book up with Between Black and White, the second book in the series. In this one, a racist murder from 1966 comes back to light when the man rumored to have led the mob is found dead in the same spot. The original victim’s son is the prime suspect and Drake will pull McCurtie back in to clear his name.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robert Bailey Books