Joseph Heywood
Joseph Heywood is an American author of mystery novels. He is best known for writing the Woods Cop Mysteries series. Heywood graduated from Michigan State with a B.A. in Journalism and then spent five years in the U.S. Air Force. In addition to being an author, he is also a cartoonist, painter, poet, photographer, fisherman and hiker. This gives him ample experience for his Woods Cops series set in the Upper Peninsula of Michigan.

Joseph Heywood made his debut in publishing in 1985 with the novel Taxi Dancer, which he wrote as Joe T. Heywood. His first novel writing as Joseph Heywood was The Berkut, published in 1987. Below is a list of Joseph Heywood’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Joseph Heywood releases a new book at

Publication Order of Beau Valentine Books

The Berkut (1987)Description / Buy at
The Domino Conspiracy (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Woods Cop Mysteries Books

Ice Hunter (2001)Description / Buy at
Blue Wolf In Green Fire (2002)Description / Buy at
Chasing a Blond Moon (2003)Description / Buy at
Running Dark (2005)Description / Buy at
Strike Dog (2007)Description / Buy at
Death Roe (2008)Description / Buy at
Shadow of the Wolf Tree (2010)Description / Buy at
Force of Blood (2011)Description / Buy at
Killing a Cold One (2013)Description / Buy at
Buckular Dystrophy (2016)Description / Buy at
Bad Optics (2018)Description / Buy at
Out of Service (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Woods Cop Mysteries Collections

Publication Order of Lute Bapcat Books

Red Jacket (2012)Description / Buy at
Mountains of the Misbegotten (2014)Description / Buy at
Beyond Beyond (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Covered Waters: Tempests of a Nomadic Trouter (2003)Description / Buy at
Limpy's Adult Lexicon (2023)Description / Buy at

Note: Taxi Dancer was written as Joe T. Heywood.

If You Like Joseph Heywood Books, You’ll Love…

Joseph Heywood Synopsis: The Berkut by Joseph Heywood is the first book in Heywood’s Beau Valentine duology. The Berkut is a story of the collision of two top-notch teams. Each team is extremely brave, resourceful and strong, but only one team will be able to survive in the end.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Joseph Heywood Books

Leave a Reply