Kellye Garrett is an American author and former television writer. She wrote on the popular show Cold Case during her television career, but now works on her books and the popular Detective by Day series.

Writing has always been a big part of Garrett’s life. She attended Florida A&M where she got her B.S. in magazine writing and worked as an editor in that industry. She would later get her MFA in screenwriting from USC Film School which served her well in her other career. Since leaving Hollywood behind, she moved back to her native New Jersey where she writes and also works for a leading media company.

Get notified when Kellye Garrett releases a new book at

Publication Order of Detective By Day Books

Hollywood Homicide (2017)Description / Buy at
Hollywood Ending (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Like a Sister (2022)Description / Buy at
Missing White Woman (2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kellye Garrett Books, You’ll Love…

Hollywood Homicide is the first book in the Detective by Day series and Garrett’s first published novel. The book introduces to Dayna Anderson, a broke actress, who is just trying to keep the bills paid. When she witnesses a deadly hit-and-run, and there is a fifteen grand reward, to find the driver. Dayna decides to look into the murder as a means to pay the bills, but she is soon wrapped up in the investigation and the reward becomes secondary to getting justice for the victim. This actress finds the role of a lifetime as an amateur detective.

Dayna returns in Hollywood Ending. This book sees Hollywood’s award season in full swing. There are parties, award shows, swag, designer clothing, and everything else that comes along with it. It’s an exciting time in Tinseltown that turns sour when a celebrity publicist is murdered. Dayna starts to investigate and at first she thinks that this will be an easy case, but soon realizes that this case is anything but. The case takes her deep into the world of Hollywood royalty and the gossip mongers that cover them.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kellye Garrett Books

Leave a Reply