Kiran Millwood Hargrave is a poet, playwright, and autho rbes tknown for her books The Girl of Ink & Stars and The Island at the End of Everything.

Kiran won the Children’s Book of the Year at the British Book Awards and the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize for The Girl of Ink & Stars. The Island at the End of Everything was long listed for the Carnegie Medal in addition to its numerous starred reviews. Millwood Hargrave lives in Oxford with her husband, the artist Tom de Freston.

Get notified when Kiran Millwood Hargrave releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Girl of Ink and Stars / The Cartographer's Daughter (2016)Description / Buy at
The Island at the End of Everything (2017)Description / Buy at
The Way Past Winter (2018)Description / Buy at
The Deathless Girls (2019)Description / Buy at
The Mercies (2020)Description / Buy at
A Secret of Birds & Bone (2020)Description / Buy at
Julia and the Shark (2021)Description / Buy at
The Dance Tree (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Haunting Season(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kiran Millwood Hargrave Books, You’ll Love…

The Girl of Ink & Stars is a beautifully written story of friendship, discovery, myths, and magic. The book takes place on the island of Joya. The island has changed. It was once a place where sonbirds sang in every tree and islanders were free to do what they want, but that was before the Governor arrived and changed everything. Now there are no songbirds and the people are forbidden to travel beyond the forest. Young Isabella ends up at the center of things when some mysterious events shake the community. She is the daughter of the island’s mapmaker which puts her in position to lead a party of explorers into the forest in search of answers.

Kiran wrote The Mercies in 2020 and the story takes place in the 1600s. The story introduces us to Maren Magnusdatter who is one of the women of the tiny Arctic town of Vardø who must fend for themselves after all the menfolk of their town have been wiped out. Three years after the death of the men, a stranger arrives on the shore with his young wife. Ursa is married to Absalom, who burned witches in Scotland, and is somewhat terrified by him. She finds the independent women of Vardø inspiring, but her husband sees more evil. The two will clash with Vardø’s very existence at stake.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kiran Millwood Hargrave Books

Leave a Reply