Kirk Mitchell is an American author and former law enforcement officer. He is best known as the author of the Dee Laguerre Mystery series and the Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed series.

His book, High Desert Malice, was a finalist for the Edgar Award in 1996. Mitchell formerly served in law enforcement as a deputy sheriff on the Paiute-Shoshone reservations in eastern California. During this team, he would also work as a metropolitan SWAT sergeant. Mitchell then turned to writing and wrote many successful novels, as well as movie tie-ins.

Get notified when Kirk Mitchell releases a new book at

Publication Order of Procurator Books

Publication Order of Dee Laguerre Mystery Books

High Desert Malice (1995)Description / Buy at
Deep Valley Malice (1996)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed Books

Cry Dance (1999)Description / Buy at
Spirit Sickness (2000)Description / Buy at
Ancient Ones (2001)Description / Buy at
Sky Woman Falling (2003)Description / Buy at
Dance of the Thunder Dogs (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A.D. Anno Domini (1984)Description / Buy at
Never The Twain (1987)Description / Buy at
Black Dragon (1988)Description / Buy at
Mississippi Burning (1989)Description / Buy at
With Siberia Comes a Chill (1990)Description / Buy at
Backdraft (1991)Description / Buy at
Shadow on the Valley (1994)Description / Buy at
Blown Away (1994)Description / Buy at
Fredericksburg (1996)Description / Buy at

If You Like Kirk Mitchell Books, You’ll Love…

High Desert Malice is the first book in the Dee Laguerre Mysteries. The story follows Dee, a ranger with the U.S. Bureau of Land Management, that sees her returning to work near her childhood home in Nevada sagebrush country. There, she’ll deal with the long-running feud between the Basque sheep herders and the local cattlemen. If that wasn’t bad enough, there are also Green eco-terrorists to deal with as well as ongoing government efforts to declare the land a protected wilderness. Mitchell presents all sides equally, with understanding and compassion.

Cry Dance introduces readers to Emmet Quanah Parker, a Bureau of Indian Affairs Investigator. He always carries the ghost of his dead partner with him, as well as his own demons of failed marriages and a drinking problem. He’ll need to keep it all straight though as he looks to solve the most dangerous case of his career. A woman is found brutally murdered and mutilated on Havasupai Nation land. Parker will team up with FBI Special Agent Anna Turnipseed to investigate the case, but the two share little in common. The two are pulled deep into the case as the suspects lead them into the killer’s trap.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Kirk Mitchell Books

Leave a Reply