Les Dawson (1934-1993) was a British comedian and author of fiction and non-fiction books. He was known for his deadpan style and roasting his mother-in-law and wife. After getting his jaw broken a boxing match, Dawson was able to pull grotesque faces by pulling his jaw over his upper lip. While best known for his work on British television, Les was saddened that people only thought of him as an entertainer. He wanted his second wife, Tracy, to always remind his fans that he was a writer too.

Les Dawson made his debut as a published author in 1974 with the standalone novel A Card for the Clubs. Below is a list of Les Dawson’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

A Card For The Clubs (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Spy Who Came... (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Hitler Was My Mother In Law (1984)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Time Before Genesis (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Come Back with the Wind (1990)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Well Fared, My Lovely (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Blade and the Passion (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Cosmo Smallpiece guide to male liberation (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Les Dawson Joke Book (1979)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Amy Pluckett Letters (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Malady Lingers on and Other Great Groaners (1982)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Les Dawson's Lancashire (1983)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Clown Too Many (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Les Dawson Gives Up (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
No Tears for the Clown (1992)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Listen to Les (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Listen To Les 2 (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Les Dawson's Secret Notebooks (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Les Dawson: Masters of Comedy (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Dawson Slant (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Les Dawson's Joke Book (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Laugh With Les (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: Les Dawson’s Joke Book was compiled by Charlotte Dawson and Tracy Dawson.

If You Like Les Dawson Books, You’ll Love…

Les Dawson Synopsis: Come Back with the Wind is a standalone novel by Les Dawson. The novel is a humourous account of the North/South divide in England is brought up to date by TV comedian and gameshow host, Les Dawson. This book records a North versus South civil war, where an embargo is threatened on whisky sales to the South causing the possible split between the two areas.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Les Dawson Books

Leave a Reply