Lesley Horton (1939-2018) was an English author of crime fiction novels. She writes the DI Handford series. Prior to becoming a novelist, Lesley worked as a teacher. She also worked as a village correspondent for two local newspapers. Lesley resided in West Yorkshire, and was married with three adult children and four grandchildren.

Lesley Horton made her debut as a novelist in 2002 with the novel Snares of Guilt. Her final novel was 2008’s Twisted Tracks. She wrote five novels in all – all featuring Detective Inspector John Handford. Below is a list of Lesley Horton’s books in order of when they were first released:

Publication Order of DI Handford Books

Snares of Guilt (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
On Dangerous Ground (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Devils In The Mirror (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Hollow Core (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Twisted Tracks (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Lesley Horton Books, You’ll Love…

Lesley Horton Synopsis: Snares of Guilt by Lesley Horton is the first DI Handford novel. Rukhsana Mahmood is dead, found horribly beaten. But who would want to kill a young woman who worked as a visiting care worker and was so loved and respected? Detective Inspector John Handford is assigned to the case. Along with Detective Sergeant Khalid Ali, who faces hostility and jibes of tokenism, DI Handford begins to look for possible motives for wanting Rukhsana dead. She was in a mixed marriage, and her husband Amajit’s family isn’t exactly mourning her death. But is this a punishment killing? Or was pleasant, quiet Rukhsana Mahmood betraying more than one person?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lesley Horton Books

Leave a Reply