Lisa Klein is an American author of YA historical fiction novels. Lisa grew up on Peoria, Illinois. She earned her doctorate in English from Indiana University. She became an assistant professor at Ohio State University, but left when she was denied tenure. Lisa decided to stay at home and raise her two sons, meanwhile trying her hand at writing. She discovered that she had a passion for both history and storytelling, and got to know several authors who wrote for younger readers. She figured that if they could do it, so could she. Lisa reads close to a hundred books of year – fiction, non-fiction, English, German. She also likes to garden, cook, travel, and shop at thrift stores. She lives in Columbus, Ohio, with her husband, and has two adult sons.

Lisa Klein made her debut as a published author in 2006 with the novel Ophelia. The novel was adapted to film in 2018. Below is a list of Lisa Klein’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Lisa Klein releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ophelia (2006)Description / Buy at
Two Girls of Gettysburg (2008)Description / Buy at
Lady Macbeth's Daughter (2009)Description / Buy at
Cate of the Lost Colony (2010)Description / Buy at
Love Disguised (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

The Magical Journey (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Exemplary Sidney And The Elizabethan Sonneteer (1998)Description / Buy at
Be It Remembered (2003)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lisa Klein Books, You’ll Love…

Lisa Klein Synopses: Ophelia is a standalone novel by Lisa Klein, reimaging Shakespeare. Ophelia must choose between her love for Hamlet and her own life. In a surprising twist, she devises a plan to escape from Elsinore once and for all… with one very dangerous secret. The novel was adapted to film in 2018, starring Daisy Ridley, Naomi Watts and Clive Owen.

Two Girls of Gettysburg is a standalone title by Lisa Klein. Lizzie and Rosanna are cousins. But when the Civil War breaks out, fifteen-year-old Lizzie finds herself committed to the cause of the Union, while Rosanna is with the Confederacy – and in love with a Confederate soldier. Torn in their alliances, yet as devoted as sisters, each girl finds herself grappling with the senseless brutality of war, and the sacrifices that must be made in order to survive. It will take one of the war’s bloodiest battles – fought on the farmlands of Gettysburg, Pennsylvania – to bring them together again.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lisa Klein Books

Leave a Reply