Luis Alberto Urrea is a Mexican-American author as well as a 2005 Pulitzer Prize finalist for nonfiction and member of the Latino Literature Hall of Fame. He is best known for writing the Lannan Literary Award winning The Devil’s Highway: A True Story and The Horse of Broken Angels.

Urrea’s first book was Across the Wire which was named a New York Times Notable Book and won the Christopher Award. In addition to his fiction and non-fiction writing, he is also a poet who won a Western States Book Award in poetry for The Fever of Being. He attended the University of California at San Diego for his undergraduate and then did his graduate studies at the University of Colorado-Boulder. He currently lives in Naperville, IL with his family where he also works professor of creative writing at the University of Illinois-Chicago.

Get notified when Luis Alberto Urrea releases a new book at

Publication Order of Border Trilogy Books

Across the Wire (1993)Description / Buy at
By the Lake of Sleeping Children (1996)Description / Buy at
Nobody's Son (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Hummingbird's Daughter Books

The Hummingbird's Daughter (2005)Description / Buy at
Queen of America (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

The Fever of Being (1994)Description / Buy at
Ghost Sickness (1997)Description / Buy at
Vatos (2000)Description / Buy at
Six Kinds of Sky (2002)Description / Buy at
Tijuana Book of the Dead (2015)Description / Buy at
The Water Museum (2015)Description / Buy at
Piedra (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

A World of Turtles: A Literary Celebration (With: Gregory McNamee) (1997)Description / Buy at
Wandering Time (1999)Description / Buy at
The Devil's Highway (2004)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

In Search of Snow (1994)Description / Buy at
Into the Beautiful North (2009)Description / Buy at
Mr. Mendoza's Paintbrush (2009)Description / Buy at
The House of Broken Angels (2018)Description / Buy at
Good Night, Irene (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

Year's Best Fantasy and Horror: Sixteenth Annual Collection(2003)Description / Buy at
Phoenix Noir(2009)Description / Buy at
By Hook or By Crook and 27 More of the Best Crime and Mystery Stories of the Year(2010)Description / Buy at
Lone Star Noir(2010)Description / Buy at
USA Noir(2013)Description / Buy at
The Highway Kind(2016)Description / Buy at
Alone Together(2020)Description / Buy at
The Writer's Library(2020)Description / Buy at
Don’t Turn Out the Lights(2020)Description / Buy at
Growing Up Chicago(2022)Description / Buy at
Fourteen Days: An Unauthorized Gathering(2024)Description / Buy at

If You Like Luis Alberto Urrea Books, You’ll Love…

The Devil’s Highway: A True Story is the Urrea’s Pulitzer Prize nominated book about the absurdity of U.S. border policy. A group of men attempted to cross the Mexican border into Arizona in 2001. The men took a route through the deadliest region of the continent known as the Devil’s Highway. It is a difficult trek and the results can be tragic. Urrea follows their journey and introduces readers to all of the characters they deal with along the way.

Urrea’s book The House of Broken Angels is a celebration of family, specifically the De La Cruzes who live on the Mexican-American border. Big Angel is in his final days and summons his family for one last birthday party. As the party nears, his mother dies and the weekend becomes a farewell to both of them. The family shares the many inspiring tales that make up their family lore and allowed them to flourish.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Luis Alberto Urrea Books

Leave a Reply