Lynn Messina is an American author of women’s fiction, historical and contemporary mystery, and historical and contemporary romance novels. She writes the Beatrice Hyde-Clare Mysteries series and the Love Takes Root series. Her writing has appeared in such publications as Self, American Baby, and The New York Times. Lynn grew up in Long Island, New York and resides in New York City.

Lynn Messina made her debut as a novelist in 2003 with Fashionistas. Below is a list of Lynn Messina’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Lynn Messina releases a new book at

Publication Order of Beatrice Hyde-Clare Mysteries Books

A Brazen Curiosity (2018)Description / Buy at
A Scandalous Deception (2018)Description / Buy at
An Infamous Betrayal (2018)Description / Buy at
A Nefarious Engagement (2019)Description / Buy at
A Treacherous Performance (2019)Description / Buy at
A Sinister Establishment (2020)Description / Buy at
A Boldly Daring Scheme (2020)Description / Buy at
A Ghastly Spectacle (2021)Description / Buy at
A Malevolent Connection (2021)Description / Buy at
An Ominous Explosion (2022)Description / Buy at
An Extravagant Duplicity (2023)Description / Buy at
A Murderous Tryst (2023)Description / Buy at
A Vicious Machination (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Love Takes Root Books

The Harlow Hoyden (2014)Description / Buy at
Miss Fellingham's Rebellion (2014)Description / Buy at
The Other Harlow Girl (2014)Description / Buy at
The Fellingham Minx (2014)Description / Buy at
The Bolingbroke Chit (2015)Description / Buy at
The Impertinent Miss Templeton (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Verity Lark Mysteries Books

A Lark’s Tale (2022)Description / Buy at
A Lark's Flight (2023)Description / Buy at
A Lark's Conceit (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Fashionistas (2003)Description / Buy at
Tallulaland (2004)Description / Buy at
Mim Warner's Lost Her Cool (2005)Description / Buy at
Savvy Girl (2008)Description / Buy at
Little Vampire Women (2010)Description / Buy at
The Girls' Guide to Dating Zombies (2012)Description / Buy at
Bleak (2012)Description / Buy at
Prejudice & Pride (2015)Description / Buy at
Violet Venom's Rules for Life (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Troublemaker (2013)Description / Buy at
Love in the Time of Zombies (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Never on a Sundae(2004)Description / Buy at

If You Like Lynn Messina Books, You’ll Love…

Lynn Messina Synopses: A Brazen Curiosity by Lynn Messina is the first book in the Beatrice Hyde-Clare Mysteries series. Jasper Ashton, the Earl of Marshfield, known for his rakish ways and commitment to staying single, finds his plans disrupted when Julia Sudbury, an impossibly desirable and clever woman, unexpectedly appears in his bedroom. Julia, adept at slipping into nobility’s private chambers, has a penchant for acquiring spare pieces of jewelry to help the city’s poor.

As Julia’s actions tarnish Jasper’s reputation and subject him to ruthless gossip, he decides to go on the run to escape the consequences. The tables turn, leaving the once confident rake to question who will ultimately tame whom in this unexpected romantic entanglement.

The Harlow Hoyden by Lynn Messina is the first book in the Love Takes Root series. Miss Emma Harlow, known for her hoydenish reputation, finds herself caught by the Duke of Trent in his conservatory stealing one of his orchids. While the duke is charmed, delighted, and puzzled, Emma is vexed to learn that he is not the country cousin but the duke himself. Emma, a practical young lady with a mission to end her sister’s engagement to Sir Waldo Windbourne, believes the duke could be the man for the job.

Emma’s plan involves the duke engaging her sister’s interest, not through seduction but through relentless flirting. The Duke of Trent, resistant to the idea, is not keen on toying with the affections of innocents. However, Emma’s scheme may have unintended consequences, as the duke finds himself longing to seduce someone other than her sister.

A Lark’s Tale is the first book in the Verity Lark Mysteries series from novelist Lynn Messina. Verity Lark, the gossip columnist for the London Daily Gazette, is a master of espionage and disguise, known for her ability to gather information on the high society. Writing under the pen name Mr. Twaddle-Thum, she safeguards her anonymity, but a mysterious imposter, Mr. Twaddle-Sham, emerges, causing chaos and potentially endangering Verity’s secrets. As she unravels the plot against this imposter, Verity finds herself in a situation where she can’t determine the true target, leaving her uncertain for the first time in years.

Fashionistas is a standalone title by Lynn Messina. Vig Morgan, having climbed her way out of the assistant position at Fashionista magazine, finds herself navigating the complex world of editors. Unlike her colleagues, Vig is uninterested in the glitzy world of celebrity fashion. She is smart, witty, and ambitious, but she has no intention of getting involved in a plot to overthrow the tyrannical editor in chief. Or does she? Join Vig as she dives into the turbulent world of scheming, backstabbing, free speech, flirtation, and fashion, as the underlings at the bottom of the masthead unite to challenge the queen at the top, yielding unexpected but not necessarily unwelcome results.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Lynn Messina Books

Leave a Reply