Andrea Penrose is an American author who writes Regency-era historical fiction. She is best know as the author of the popular Wrexford & Sloane Mystery series. Penrose has won numerous awards for her writing, including two Daphne Du Maurier Awards for Historical Mystery and two Gold Leaf Awards.

Penrose attended Yale where she earned her MFA in Graphic Design at the Yale School of Art, concentrating in publication design. She also took many history classes during this time. She learned to love Regency England after reading Pride & Prejudice which ultimately lead to her writing career. She makes her home in Connecticut.

Get notified when Andrea Penrose releases a new book at

Publication Order of Circle Of Sin Books

(as Cara Elliott)

To Sin with a Scoundrel (2010)Description / Buy at
To Surrender to a Rogue (2010)Description / Buy at
To Tempt a Rake (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dangerous Liaisons Books

(as Andrea Pickens)

A Diamond in the Rough (2001)Description / Buy at
Sweeter Than Sin (2014)Description / Buy at
Devil May Care (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hellions Of High Street Books

(as Cara Elliott)

Scandalously Yours (2014)Description / Buy at
Sinfully Yours (2014)Description / Buy at
Passionately Yours (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Intrepid Heroines Books

(as Andrea Pickens)

Code of Honor (1998)Description / Buy at
The Hired Hero (1999)Description / Buy at
A Stroke of Luck (2003)Description / Buy at
Pistols at Dawn (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lady Arianna Hadley Mystery Books

Sweet Revenge (2011)Description / Buy at
The Cocoa Conspiracy (2011)Description / Buy at
Recipe for Treason (2012)Description / Buy at
The Stolen Letters (2017)Description / Buy at
Smoke & Lies (2018)Description / Buy at
A Question of Numbers (2019)Description / Buy at
A Tangle of Serpents (2020)Description / Buy at
A Swirl of Shadows (2022)Description / Buy at
The Thunder of Stones (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lords Of Midnight Books

(as Cara Elliott)

Too Wicked to Wed (2011)Description / Buy at
Too Tempting to Resist (2012)Description / Buy at
Too Dangerous to Desire (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Lessons In Love Books

(as Andrea Pickens)

The Defiant Governess (1997)Description / Buy at
Second Chances (2000)Description / Buy at
The Storybook Hero (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Merlin's Maidens Books

(as Andrea Pickens)

The Spy Wore Silk (2007)Description / Buy at
Seduced by a Spy (2008)Description / Buy at
The Scarlet Spy (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Scandalous Secrets Books

(as Andrea Pickens)

The Major's Mistake (2000)Description / Buy at
A Lady of Letters (2000)Description / Buy at
The Banished Bride (2002)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Wrexford & Sloane Books

Murder on Black Swan Lane (2017)Description / Buy at
Murder at Half Moon Gate (2018)Description / Buy at
Murder at Kensington Palace (2019)Description / Buy at
Murder at Queen's Landing (2020)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Royal Botanic Gardens (2021)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Serpentine Bridge (2022)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Merton Library (2023)Description / Buy at
Murder at King’s Crossing (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Tiger's Mistress (As: Andrea DaRif) (2003)Description / Buy at
A Kiss of Spice (As: Andrea DaRif) (2004)Description / Buy at
The Diamond of London (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Christmas By Candlelight (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Regency Christmas Courtship(2005)Description / Buy at
Truly, Madly, Regency(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Andrea Penrose Books, You’ll Love…

Murder on Black Swan Lane is the first book in the Wrexford & Sloane Mystery series. The book introduces the Earl of Wrexford, a brilliant man who often takes part in reckless behavior. This leads to the local Reverend publicly condemning him for his debauchery and Wrexford can’t help but to use his wit to strike back. When the clergyman is found dead, Wrexford becomes the chief suspect. Meanwhile, Charlotte Sloane has been using her late husband’s nom de plume. A.J. Quill. Wrexford will need her to use Quill’s sources to help him and clear his name.

The Lady Arianna Hadley Mystery series begins with Sweet Revenge. The book sees Lady Arianna out for revenge which brings her back to London after spending time in the West Indies. She is determined to find the men responsible for her father’s death so she disguises herself as a man and takes work as a chef in one of London’s aristocratic households. The Prince Regent ends up poisoned by one of her desserts and goes to questions Arianna. However, they are both nearly killed which brings them together to try and solve the crime.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Andrea Penrose Books

Leave a Reply