Maj Sjowall
Maj Sjowall was a Swedish author of crime fiction who was best known with her collaborations with her late partner Per Wahloo. Her novels with Wahloo featured Swedish police detective Martin Beck. Their novel The Laughing Policeman won an Edgar Award for Best Novel and was also adapted to film (starring Walter Matthau). In addition to being a published novelist, Maj is also a translator.

Maj Sjowall made her debut as an author in 1965 with the novel Roseanna, which started the Martin Beck series by Sjowall and Wahloo. Her final novel to be published was The Terrorists in 1976 – also co-authored with Per Wahloo. Maj Sjowall passed away on April 29th, 2020. Below is a list of Maj Sjowall’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Martin Beck Books

(with Per Wahlöö)

Roseanna (1965)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Went Up in Smoke (1966)Description / Buy at
The Man on the Balcony (1967)Description / Buy at
The Laughing Policeman / Investigation of Murder (1968)Description / Buy at
The Fire Engine that Disappeared (1969)Description / Buy at
Murder at the Savoy (1970)Description / Buy at
The Abominable Man (1971)Description / Buy at
The Locked Room (1972)Description / Buy at
Cop Killer (1974)Description / Buy at
The Terrorists (1975)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Darker Shade of Sweden(2013)Description / Buy at
Ten Year Stretch(2018)Description / Buy at

Notes: All novels by Maj Sjowall were co-authored with Per Wahloo. The Laughing Policeman was also published as Investigation of Murder.

If You Like Maj Sjowall Books, You’ll Love…

Maj Sjowall Synopsis: The Terrorists by Maj Sjowall and Per Wahloo is the 10th and final Martin Beck novel. While a U.S. senator is on a trip to Stockholm, Martin Beck has been tasked with leading a team to protect him from a group of international terrorists. During the fervor of the visit, a innocent-looking woman is accused of robbing a bank. Martin Beck must prove her innocence, but gets stonewalled. Meanwhile, a millionaire pornographer is killed in his own bathtub.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Maj Sjowall Books

Leave a Reply