Anne Holt is a Norwegian author of crime fiction, thrillers and mysteries. She is the creator of the Hanne Wilhelmsen and Vik/Stubo series. Before becoming a novelist, she was a lawyer, journalist, anchor woman and politician. Anne lives in Oslo with her partner Tine and their daughter.

Anne Holt became a published author in 1993 with the novel Blind Goddess. She has also published a few standalone titles that have yet to be translated into English. Below is a list of Anne Holt’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Anne Holt releases a new book at

Publication Order of Hanne Wilhelmsen Books

Blind Goddess (1993)Description / Buy at
Blessed Are Those Who Thirst (1993)Description / Buy at
Death of the Demon (1995)Description / Buy at
The Lion's Mouth (1997)Description / Buy at
Dead Joker (1999)Description / Buy at
No Echo (2000)Description / Buy at
Beyond the Truth (2003)Description / Buy at
1222 (2007)Description / Buy at
Odd Numbers / Offline (2015)Description / Buy at
In Dust and Ashes (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Selma Falck Books

A Grave for Two (2018)Description / Buy at
A Necessary Death (2020)Description / Buy at
A Memory for Murder (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Vik & Stubø Books

Punishment / What Is Mine (2001)Description / Buy at
The Final Murder / What Never Happens (2004)Description / Buy at
Death in Oslo (2006)Description / Buy at
Fear Not (2008)Description / Buy at
What Dark Clouds Hide (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sara Zuckerman Books

Flimmer (2010)Description / Buy at
Sudden Death (2014)Description / Buy at
Not currently available in English.

Notes: Punishment was published as What Is Mine. The Final Murder is also known as What Never Happens. Odd Numbers was also published as Offline.

If You Like Anne Holt Books, You’ll Love…

Anne Holt Synopses: A Grave for Two is the first Selma Falck novel by Anne Holt. Selma Falck finds herself at the nadir of her personal life and legal career. But a glimmer of hope emerges when Hege Chin Morell, Norway’s top female skier, seeks her help to overturn a damning doping accusation. With the Winter Olympics looming just two months away, Selma undertakes the nearly impossible task of proving Morell’s innocence.

However, the situation takes a darker turn when a male skier meets a fatal end in a training mishap. This tragedy awakens Selma’s intuition that something more sinister is unfolding. As she delves deeper into the case, Selma uncovers layers of corruption, hidden animosities, and shadowy connections. The links between recent crimes and ancient transgressions become irrefutable, painting a complex and dangerous picture.

With the clock ticking, Selma races against time to unravel the truth, discovering that the stakes are even higher than she initially thought. In her quest for justice, she uncovers a web of deceit that threatens not only Morell’s reputation but also the lives of many others.

In A Necessary Death by Anne Holt (book 2 in the Selma Falck series), Selma Falck’s reality transforms into a nightmarish ordeal. Trapped within a blazing cabin, nestled on a frigid, snow-clad mountain, her whereabouts and journey remain an enigma. Struggling and battered, she manages a harrowing escape just as the inferno consumes the cabin. Left battered, cold, and unclothed, she emerges with the raging flames behind her. Isolated in an unfamiliar wilderness, with no human presence in sight and temperatures plummeting rapidly, her survival hangs by a thread.

Selma grapples with the bitter cold, her own injuries, and the gnawing pangs of hunger. As she battles against the elements, she begins piecing together fragments of her past six months, revealing a chilling tale. Stranded and alone, she’s confronted with a daunting reality that transcends her own plight. She not only struggles to endure but also strives to return to civilization with haste. A grievous murder has been committed, a grave injustice looms, and Selma becomes the key to stopping a malevolent force. In her hands rests the destiny of an entire nation.

Others, determined to preserve their sinister agenda, await the chance to extinguish Selma’s existence. In a race against the elements and adversaries alike, Selma must navigate treacherous paths to survive. As the cold claws at her, and shadows of danger lengthen, her resilience will be tested to the limit, and the fate of her nation hangs precariously in the balance.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Anne Holt Books

3 Responses to “Order of Anne Holt Books”

  1. Christer Cederberg: 3 years ago

    Will Arrhythmia ever be released in English? It is not available here.


    • joan kahl: 1 year ago

      last book list i have shows her last book is 2017 need all books after that – if any. she is my favorite author but cannot find up-to-date list on line. please send. Joan


      • Graeme: 1 year ago

        Yes there are books released after 2017 and they are listed above


Leave a Reply