Margaret Duffy is an English author best known for writing the Ingrid Langley and Patrick Gillard Mystery series. She is also the author of the Joanna McKenzie series and several standalone novels.

Prior to becoming an author, Duffy worked for the Ministry of Defence in Bath, England. Her experiences while working there would go on to inform much of her future writing. Margaret makes her home in Devon upon the edge of Dartmoor in the United Kingdom.

Get notified when Margaret Duffy releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ingrid Langley and Patrick Gillard Mystery Books

A Murder of Crows (1987)Description / Buy at
Death of a Raven (1988)Description / Buy at
Brass Eagle (1989)Description / Buy at
Who Killed Cock Robin? (1990)Description / Buy at
Rook-Shoot (1991)Description / Buy at
Gallows Bird (1993)Description / Buy at
A Hanging Matter (2002)Description / Buy at
Dead Trouble (2004)Description / Buy at
So Horrible a Place (2005)Description / Buy at
Tainted Ground (2006)Description / Buy at
Cobweb (2007)Description / Buy at
Blood Substitute (2008)Description / Buy at
Souvenirs of Murder (2009)Description / Buy at
Corpse in Waiting (2010)Description / Buy at
Rat Poison (2011)Description / Buy at
Stealth (2012)Description / Buy at
Dark Side (2014)Description / Buy at
Ashes to Ashes (2015)Description / Buy at
Dust to Dust (2017)Description / Buy at (2017)Description / Buy at
Stone Cold, Stone Dead (2018)Description / Buy at
Gillard's Sting (2020)Description / Buy at
The Not Quite Perfect Murderer (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Joanna McKenzie Books

Dressed to Kill (1994)Description / Buy at
Prospect of Death (1996)Description / Buy at
Music in the Blood (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

If You Like Margaret Duffy Books, You’ll Love…

A Murder of Crows is the first book in the Ingrid Langley and Patrick Gillard Mystery series. The book picks up with Ingrid, a famous novelist, picking up after her divorce from Patrick Gillard. She left that life behind and started a new one with a policeman named Peter. However, when her husband is gunned down she is left grief stricken. The murder is strange as it has drawn the attention of the secret service. Her ex-husband Peter is an SAS-trained killer in Her Majesty’s secret service and comes sniffing around. She’ll end up working with him on the case which gets them involved with the IRA, the Russians and British agencies.

Duffy is also the author of the Joanna McKenzie series which begins with Prospect of Death. The story begins with Chief Inspector James Carrick being found unconscious behind the wheel of his crashed car. He can’t explain why he was driving or what happened, and it threatens to ruin his career. Meanwhile, the corpse of a TV producer is found floating in the river. Carrick is fighting to clear his name and Joanna, desperately in love with him, is out to clear his name. However, her pursuit for the truth will lead her to finding out more than she bargained for.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Margaret Duffy Books

Leave a Reply