Maurizio de Giovanni is an Italian author best known for writing the Commissario Ricciardi series. He is also the author of the Giuseppe Lojacono series and the Bastards of Pizzofalcone series.

The author has spent most of their life in Naples, Italy. The author came to writing through a competition which gave him the idea for Commisario Ricciardi. He wrote a novella at that time and the success of it led him to writing it as a series of books. All of the books in the series featuring cooking which has many fans hoping for a cookbook.

Get notified when Maurizio de Giovanni releases a new book at

Publication Order of Commissario Ricciardi Books

I Will Have Vengeance (2007)Description / Buy at
Blood Curse (2008)Description / Buy at
Everyone in Their Place (2009)Description / Buy at
Day of the Dead (2010)Description / Buy at
By My Hand (2011)Description / Buy at
Viper (2012)Description / Buy at
The Bottom of Your Heart (2014)Description / Buy at
Glass Souls (2015)Description / Buy at
Nameless Serenade (2016)Description / Buy at
Winter Swallows (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Giuseppe Lojacono Books

Publication Order of The Bastards of Pizzofalcone Books

The Bastards of Pizzofalcone (2013)Description / Buy at
Darkness for the Bastards of Pizzofalcone (2013)Description / Buy at
Cold for the Bastards of Pizzofalcone (2014)Description / Buy at
Puppies (2015)Description / Buy at
Bread (2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Maurizio de Giovanni Books, You’ll Love…

I Will Have Vengeance is the first book in the Commissario Ricciardi series. Ricciardi has visions in his work where he sees the victims of violent deaths that is both a gift an da curse. It helps him in his work, but the visions follow him and have hurt him emotionally. This has led him to drinking too much and sleeping too little. He has no relationships outside of his partner, Brigadier Maione. His latest case starts when the world’s greatest tenor is murdered in his dressing room. He had no shortage of enemies, but the opera depended on him.

The Bastards of Pizzofalcone is the first book in the series of the same name. After all the former investigators were found guilty of corruption a whole new crew was brought in. Now, they have a case of a high-profile murder to investigate. Inspector Lojacono is a cop with a checkered past that is on the up right now after catching a serial killer. His partner is Aragona and the new commissario is Luigi Palma aka Gigi. This book serves as de Giovanni’s entry into the world of police procedurals, but the cast of characters is what makes it.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Maurizio de Giovanni Books

Leave a Reply