Mel Starr is an American author best known for his series of books, the Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon Chronicles. He was born in Kalamazoo, Michigan and lived there for most of his life.

Starr went to Greenville College in Illinois before earning his MA in history at Western Michigan University. For a career, he would teach history in Michigan public schools for thirty-nine years before retiring in 2003. He would publish his first novel, The Unquiet Bones in 2008 and has been publishing novels ever since.

Get notified when Mel Starr releases a new book at

Publication Order of Chronicles Of Hugh De Singleton, Surgeon Books

The Unquiet Bones (2008)Description / Buy at
A Corpse at St. Andrew's Chapel (2009)Description / Buy at
A Trail of Ink (2010)Description / Buy at
Unhallowed Ground (2011)Description / Buy at
The Tainted Coin (2012)Description / Buy at
Rest Not in Peace (2013)Description / Buy at
The Abbot's Agreement (2014)Description / Buy at
Ashes to Ashes (2015)Description / Buy at
Lucifer's Harvest (2016)Description / Buy at
Deeds of Darkness (2017)Description / Buy at
Prince Edward's Warrant (2018)Description / Buy at
Without a Trace (2019)Description / Buy at
The Easter Sepulchre (2020)Description / Buy at
Master Wycliffe's Summons (2021)Description / Buy at
Suppression and Suspicion (2022)Description / Buy at
A Polluted Font (2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Mel Starr Books, You’ll Love…

The aforementioned The Unquiet Bones is the first book in the Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon Chronicles series of books. Starr was a history teacher in his career prior to writing and it really shows in this book. It covers the medieval times with expertise and feels very real. This book involves a mystery as the remains of a young woman are found in the castle and the surgeon is called upon to uncover the truth. The story has plenty of twists and turns that keep the reader guessing, but the characterization of Hugh de Singleton is what keeps readers coming back here.

The second book in the series is A Corpse at St. Andrew’s Chapel and continues the story of Hugh de Singleton. In this one, the beadle of the manor of Bampton goes out at dusk to check on people violating curfew, but when he doesn’t return home his wife contacts Hugh de Singleton for help. When the man’s body is found, ravaged with his head nearly severed, the coroner says that a wolf is responsible. de Singleton isn’t so sure though and begins his investigation. This book is well told and the historical setting is once again expertly researched by Starr.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Mel Starr Books

One Response to “Order of Mel Starr Books”

  1. Bea: 1 year ago

    I really hope there is a new Hugh book planned for this year. Please say I’m right.



Leave a Reply