Dean James Miranda James
Miranda James is the most well-known pen name of American author Dean James, who writes cozy mystery novels. Besides his pseudonym and real name, James also uses (or has used) the names Jimmie Ruth Evans and Honor Hartman. Among the series he has written are the Cat in the Stacks Mysteries, Trailer Park Mysteries and the Simon Kirby-Jones Mysteries. James has been writing ever since he was 12, when he wrote a mystery novel entitled The Mystery of the Willow Key, inspired by Nancy Drew and Trixie Belden. He has also written several non-fiction books.

Dean James became a published author in 1994 when he published a non-fiction book entitled By a Woman’s Hand, co-authored by Jean Swanson. The reference book won an Agatha Award for Best Mystery Non-Fiction. His first mystery novel was entitled Cruel as the Grave (again written as Dean James) and was published in 2000. His debut as Miranda James came in 2010 with the novel Murder Past Due, which was the beginning of his Cat in the Stacks Mysteries series. Below is a list of Dean/Miranda James’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Miranda James releases a new book at

Publication Order of Deep South Mysteries Books

(as Dean James)

Cruel as the Grave (2000)Description / Buy at
Closer Than the Bones (2001)Description / Buy at
Death by Dissertation (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Southern Ladies Mysteries Books

Bless Her Dead Little Heart (2014)Description / Buy at
Dead with the Wind (2015)Description / Buy at
Digging Up the Dirt (2016)Description / Buy at
Fixing to Die (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Trailer Park Mysteries Books

(as Jimmie Evans)

Flamingo Fatale (2005)Description / Buy at
Murder Over Easy (2006)Description / Buy at
Best Served Cold (2007)Description / Buy at
Bring Your Own Poison (2008)Description / Buy at
Leftover Dead (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Cat In The Stacks Mysteries Books

Murder Past Due (2010)Description / Buy at
Classified as Murder (2011)Description / Buy at
File M for Murder (2012)Description / Buy at
Out of Circulation (2012)Description / Buy at
The Silence of the Library (2014)Description / Buy at
Arsenic and Old Books (2015)Description / Buy at
No Cats Allowed (2016)Description / Buy at
Twelve Angry Librarians (2017)Description / Buy at
Claws for Concern (2018)Description / Buy at
Six Cats a Slayin' (2018)Description / Buy at
The Pawful Truth (2019)Description / Buy at
Careless Whiskers (2020)Description / Buy at
Cat Me If You Can (2020)Description / Buy at
What the Cat Dragged In (2021)Description / Buy at
Hiss Me Deadly (2023)Description / Buy at
Requiem for a Mouse (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Simon Kirby-Jones Books

(as Dean James)

Posted to Death (2002)Description / Buy at
Faked to Death (2003)Description / Buy at
Decorated to Death (2004)Description / Buy at
Baked to Death (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Bridge Club Mysteries Books

(as Honor Hartman)

On the Slam (2007)Description / Buy at
The Unkindest Cut (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

By a Woman's Hand (As: Dean James, With: Jean Swanson) (1994)Description / Buy at
Killer Books (As: Dean James, With: Jean Swanson) (1998)Description / Buy at
The Dick Francis Companion (As: Dean James, With: Jean Swanson) (2003)Description / Buy at
The Robert B. Parker Companion (As: Dean James, With: Elizabeth Foxwell) (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dean James Short Stories/Novellas

(as Dean James)

The Village Vampire and the Oboe of Death (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Deadly Women(1997)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 7(1998)Description / Buy at
Canine Crimes(1998)Description / Buy at
Magnolias and Mayhem(2000)Description / Buy at
Derby Rotten Scoundrels: A Silver Dagger Anthology(2004)Description / Buy at
Death Dines In(2004)Description / Buy at
A Kudzu Christmas(2005)Description / Buy at
Suspense Magazine June 2013(2013)Description / Buy at
Dead But Not Forgotten(2014)Description / Buy at
Year-Round Trouble(2020)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Simon Kirby-Jones series, the Deep South Mysteries series and all anthologies and non-fiction books were written under his real name of Dean James. The Trailer Park Mysteries series was written as Jimmie Ruth Evans. The Bridge Club Mysteries series was written using the pen name of Honor Hartman.

The non-fiction books By a Woman’s Hand, Killer Books and The Dick Francis Companion were co-authored with Jean Swanson. The book The Robert B. Parker Companion was co-authored with Elizabeth Foxwell.

If You Like Miranda James Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Miranda James Books

Leave a Reply