Norah Lofts was one of the top-selling British authors of the 20th century. She focused on the historical fiction genre and wrote more than fifty works in her career. She is best known as the author of The Suffolk Trilogy, The House Trilogy, and books like The Concubine and The Lost Queen.

Lofts was born in Shidham, Norfolk and grew up in Bury St. Edmunds. She went on to attend school at Guildhall Feoffment Girls School and the County Grammar School for Girls. She would go on to earn her teaching diploma. In addition to her work as an author, she stood as a Town Councillor for Bury St Edmunds from 1957 to 1962.

Publication Order of Gad's Hall Books

Gad's Hall (1977)Description / Buy at
The Haunting of Gad's Hall / Haunted House (1978)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of House Books

The Town House (1959)Description / Buy at
The House at Old Vine (1961)Description / Buy at
The House at Sunset (1962)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Sir Godfrey Tallboys Books

Knight's Acre (1975)Description / Buy at
The Homecoming (1975)Description / Buy at
The Lonely Furrow (1976)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Here Was a Man (1936)Description / Buy at
White Hell of Pity (1937)Description / Buy at
Out of This Nettle (1938)Description / Buy at
Requiem for Idols (1938)Description / Buy at
Blossom Like the Rose (1939)Description / Buy at
Hester Roon (1940)Description / Buy at
Bride of Moat House / Dead March in Three Keys / No Question of Murder (As:Peter Curtis) (1940)Description / Buy at
Scent of Cloves (1940)Description / Buy at
Winter Harvest (1941)Description / Buy at
The Road to Revelation / Winter Harvest (1941)Description / Buy at
The Brittle Glass (1942)Description / Buy at
Michael and All Angels / The Golden Fleece (1943)Description / Buy at
Jassy (1944)Description / Buy at
Lady Living Alone (As:Peter Curtis) (1945)Description / Buy at
To See a Fine Lady (1946)Description / Buy at
Silver Nutmeg (1947)Description / Buy at
A Calf for Venus / Letty (1949)Description / Buy at
Esther (1950)Description / Buy at
The Lute Player (1951)Description / Buy at
Bless This House (1954)Description / Buy at
Eleanor the Queen / Queen in Waiting (1955)Description / Buy at
Afternoon ofan Autocrat / The Devil in Clevely / The Deadly Gift (1956)Description / Buy at
Heaven in Your Hand (1958)Description / Buy at
Little Wax Dolls (1960)Description / Buy at
The Concubine (1963)Description / Buy at
How Far to Bethlehem? (1964)Description / Buy at
Madselin (1968)Description / Buy at
The Lost Queen / The Lost Ones (1968)Description / Buy at
The King's Pleasure (1969)Description / Buy at
Lovers All Untrue (1970)Description / Buy at
Her Own Special Island / Uneasy Paradise (1971)Description / Buy at
A Rose for Virtue (1971)Description / Buy at
The Maude Reed Tale / Story of Maude Reed (1971)Description / Buy at
Rupert Hatton's Story / Rupert Hatton's Tales (1972)Description / Buy at
Charlotte / Out of the Dark (1972)Description / Buy at
Nethergate (1973)Description / Buy at
Crown of Aloes (1974)Description / Buy at
Checkmate (1975)Description / Buy at
The Fall of Midas (As:Juliet Astley) (1975)Description / Buy at
Walk Into My Parlour (1975)Description / Buy at
Copsi Castle (As:Juliet Astley) (1978)Description / Buy at
The Day of the Butterfly (1979)Description / Buy at
A Wayside Tavern (1980)Description / Buy at
The Old Priory (1981)Description / Buy at
The Claw (1981)Description / Buy at
Pargeters (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

I Met a Gypsy (1935)Description / Buy at
Saving Face and Other Stories (1984)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Hauntings: Is There Anybody There? (1974)Description / Buy at
Eternal France (1974)Description / Buy at
Domestic Life in England (1976)Description / Buy at
Queens of England / Queens of Britain (1977)Description / Buy at
Emma Hamilton (1978)Description / Buy at
Anne Boleyn (1979)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Tales of the Uncanny(1983)Description / Buy at
The Virago Book of Ghost Stories(1987)Description / Buy at

If You Like Norah Lofts Books, You’ll Love…

In Gad’s Hall, the Spender family is asked by a kindly man to help protect his ancient, beautifully kept house. It is a godsend for the family and soon Gad’s Hall comes alive again. However, there is more to the house than it seems and there are supernatural forces at work. Forces that make a sensible woman be overtaken by irrational feelings she can’t control because of the unspeakable secret kept by the women who had lived at Gad’s Hall more than a century ago.

Lofts was also the author of Knight’s Acre. The story follows Sir Godfrey Tallboys, a knight-errant, who is in need of a house for his pretty young wife, Lady Sybilla. She wants a home where she can raise their children as opposed to relying on the charity of their relatives. Godfrey decides to build a house with the last of his money before heading off to Spain for a chance at a fortune. However, that plan backfires when he turns up dead and Sybilla is left to fend for herself and the children.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Norah Lofts Books

One Response to “Order of Norah Lofts Books”

  1. Commenter: 3 years ago

    Norah Lofts was a great writer. I am particularly enthused about the “House” books series. To read the stories of the people who lived in a specific house through decades. Very unusual, and highly recommended. I have enjoyed many of her other books as well.


Leave a Reply