Olivia Manning (1911-1980) was an Anglo-Irish author. Her novels usually had to do with personal journeys, set in England, Ireland and the Middle East – using drawing on her own experiences. After growing up in England and Ireland, she married British Council lecturer R.D. Smith and spent time in Romania, Greece, Egypt and Palestine, before returning to England. Olivia didn’t gain much fame until her Balkan and Levant trilogies were adapted into the “Fortunes of War” TV series in 1987 – seven years after her death.

Olivia Manning made her debut as a published author in 1937 with the novel The Wind Changes. Her final published work was the posthumously published Remarkable Expedition in 1985. Below is a list of Olivia Manning’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Balkan Trilogy Books

The Great Fortune (1960)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Spoilt City (1962)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Friends and Heroes (1965)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Levant Trilogy Books

The Danger Tree (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Battle Lost and Won (1978)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Sum of Things (1981)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Oliva Manning Short Story Collections

A Romantic Hero (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Extraordinary Cats (1967)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Wind Changes (1937)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Remarkable Expedition (1947)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Artist Among The Missing (1949)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Dreaming Shore (1950)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
School for Love (1951)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Different Face (1953)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Doves of Venus (1955)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Play Room (1969)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Rain Forest (1974)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Winter's Tales 15(1969)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Penguin Modern Stories 12(1972)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Note: Penguin Modern Stories 12 also has stories by Ian Cochrane, Gabriel Josipovici and Francis King.

If You Like Olivia Manning Books, You’ll Love…

Olivia Manning Synopses: The Doves of Venus is a standalone title by Olivia Manning. Eighteen-year-old Ellie has come to London looking for an adventure. Quintin, finds her a job in fashionable Chelsea. But Quintin, the seducer of one dove is also the husband of another. And Petta, his once beautiful wife, is fighting back age as fiercely as Ellie is plunging into it.

The Rain Forest is a standalone novel by Olivia Manning. Married, but obstinately set in their separate ways, writers Hugh and Kristy Foster travel to Al-Bustan, an island out in the middle of the Indian Ocean. Too late they discover how it seethes with unrest and intrigue, and a light is shone upon their differences.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Olivia Manning Books

Leave a Reply