P.F. Chisholm, aka Patricia Finney, has been writing for most of her life and was originally published at the age of 18. Under the name of P.F. Chisholm, she is best known for writing the Sir Robert Carey series of books. That series takes us back to 1592 and starts with the first book, A Famine of Horses.

In her career she has won the David Higham Award for her first book and the top BBC Radio Drama award for her play “A Room Full of Mirrors”. When not writing she teaches English to Hungarian adults on a part-time basis.

Get notified when P.F. Chisholm releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Sir Robert Carey Books

A Famine of Horses (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Season of Knives (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Surfeit of Guns (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Plague of Angels (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Murder of Crows (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
An Air of Treason (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Chorus of Innocents (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Clash of Spheres (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Suspicion of Silver (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
A Taste of Witchcraft (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Young Carey Books

A Pest of a Boy (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like P.F. Chisholm Books, You’ll Love…

A Famine of Horses is the first book in the Sir Robert Carey series. The book takes place in 1592 when Carey comes to the Carlisle to start his new position as the Deputy Warden of the West March. He took this position in order to be closer to his (married) true love and away from his disapproving father, but he soon finds that the job is not going to be easy. A local lad has been murdered and hundreds of horses have been stolen, Carey finds his plate full and plenty to deal with in his new job.

Another good book in the series is A Plague of Angels. In this book, Carey is summoned back to London by his father. The two don’t have a great relationship, but his father needs Carey’s help to sort out some difficulties that Carey’s older brother has got himself into. He’s innocent of course, but there is a plot to discredit the family and Carey needs to find a way out of it. Carey will run into many persons known to history such as George Greene, Christopher Marlowe, and a love-sick William Shakespeare.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of P.F. Chisholm Books

One Response to “Order of P.F. Chisholm Books”

  1. Jean Jenn: 4 years ago

    A wonderful series about a real life Elizabethan courtier…..Yes, he was Queen Elizabeth’s cousin, and this series (read in order!) makes it come to life. Well written, fascinating.


Leave a Reply