Pat Barker is an English author of historical fiction and contemporary fiction novels. The subjects of her fiction involve memory, trauma, survival and recovery. Her writing is considered direct, blunt and plainspoken. Pat grew up in a working class family in Thornaby-on-Tees, Yorkshire. She never knew her father (nor did her mother), and because illegitimate children were frowned upon, her mother introduced Pat as her younger sister rather than her daughter. Pat was largely raised by her grandmother and step-grandfather. She attended King James Grammar School and Grangefield Grammar School, before going on to study international history at the London School of Economics. Pat lives in Durham, England.

Pat Barker made her debut as a novelist in 1982 with the novel Union Street. Below is a list of Pat Barker’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Pat Barker releases a new book at

Publication Order of Brooke Family Books

Publication Order of Regeneration Books

Regeneration (1991)Description / Buy at
The Eye in the Door (1993)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Road (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Women Of Troy Books

The Silence of the Girls (2018)Description / Buy at
The Women of Troy (2021)Description / Buy at
The Voyage Home (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Union Street (1982)Description / Buy at
Blow Your House Down (1984)Description / Buy at
The Century's Daughter / Liza's England (1986)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Wasn't There (1989)Description / Buy at
Another World (1998)Description / Buy at
Border Crossing (2001)Description / Buy at
Double Vision (2003)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 7: Best of Young British Novelists(1983)Description / Buy at
The Great Basin: People and Place in Ancient Times(2008)Description / Buy at

Note: The Century’s Daughter was re-published as Liza’s England.

If You Like Pat Barker Books, You’ll Love…

Pat Barker Synopses: Union Street is a standalone title by Pat Barker. Union Street is at the heart of a city in the industrial north-east of England, a wasteland of decaying streets and partly demolished houses. The novel tells story of seven women who live on Union Street. The movie was adapted into the film Stanley & Iris, starring Jane Fonda and Robert De Niro.

In Another World by Pat Barker, Nick’s grandfather Geordie is nearing his final breath. As Nick watches, Geordie starts to relive the horrors surrounding his brother’s death in the painful days before his own. Meanwhile Nick and his wife Fran try to unite their increasingly fractious family by organizing the children into decorating the living room. Gradually, as the old wallpaper is peeled away an obscene portrait of an Edwardian family is revealed. The drawing is an exercise in hate, revealing the history of their house and casting a terrifying shadow over the family.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Pat Barker Books

Leave a Reply