Patricia A. McKillip is an American author best known for writing in the fantasy and science fiction genres. She is best known for writing books like the Riddle-Master series, The Forgotten Beasts of Eld, and In The Forests of Serre.

McKillip has won numerous awards in her writing career. She won the World Fantasy Award in 1975 for The Forgotten Beasts of Eld and then went on to win the Locus Award in 1980 for Harpist in the Wind. Patricia attended a few colleges during her time, starting with the College of Notre Dame, then Belmont, and finally San Jose University where she earned a BA in English. She would finish up at San Jose State University where she earned her MA. Patricia now makes her home in Oregon.

Get notified when Patricia A. McKillip releases a new book at

Publication Order of Cygnet Duology Books

The Sorceress and the Cygnet (1990)Description / Buy at
The Cygnet and the Firebird (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Kyreol Duology Books

Moon-Flash (1984)Description / Buy at
The Moon and the Face (1985)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Riddle-Master Books

The Riddle-Master of Hed (1976)Description / Buy at
Heir of Sea and Fire (1977)Description / Buy at
Harpist in the Wind (1979)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Winter Rose Books

Publication Order of Brian Froud's Faerielands Books

The Wild Wood (By: Charles de Lint,Brian Froud) (1994)Description / Buy at
Something Rich and Strange (With: Brian Froud) (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of MagicQuest Books

The Throme of the Erril of Sherill (1973)Description / Buy at
Power of Three (By: Diana Wynne Jones) (1976)Description / Buy at
Tulku (By: Peter Dickinson) (1979)Description / Buy at
The Magicians of Caprona (By: Diana Wynne Jones) (1980)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The House on Parchment Street (1973)Description / Buy at
The Forgotten Beasts of Eld (1974)Description / Buy at
The Night Gift (1976)Description / Buy at
Stepping from the Shadows (1982)Description / Buy at
Fool's Run (1987)Description / Buy at
The Changeling Sea (1988)Description / Buy at
The Book of Atrix Wolfe (1995)Description / Buy at
Song for the Basilisk (1998)Description / Buy at
The Tower at Stony Wood (2000)Description / Buy at
Ombria in Shadow (2002)Description / Buy at
In the Forests of Serre (2003)Description / Buy at
Alphabet of Thorn (2004)Description / Buy at
Od Magic (2005)Description / Buy at
The Bell at Sealey Head (2008)Description / Buy at
The Bards of Bone Plain (2010)Description / Buy at
Kingfisher (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Collections

Harrowing the Dragon (2005)Description / Buy at
Wonders of the Invisible World (2012)Description / Buy at
Dreams of Distant Shores (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Karkadann Triangle (With: Peter S. Beagle) (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dragons & Dreams(1986)Description / Buy at
Full Spectrum 2(1989)Description / Buy at
After the King(1991)Description / Buy at
Snow White, Blood Red(1993)Description / Buy at
Temporary Walls(1993)Description / Buy at
Seventh Annual Collection(1994)Description / Buy at
Year's Best Fantasy & Horror: Tenth Annual Collection(1996)Description / Buy at
Shakespearean Whodunnits(1997)Description / Buy at
Silver Birch, Blood Moon(1999)Description / Buy at
The Writer's Guide to Fantasy Literature(2002)Description / Buy at
The Green Man: Tales from the Mythic Forest(2002)Description / Buy at
Firebirds: An Anthology of Original Fantasy and Science Fiction(2003)Description / Buy at
To Weave a Web of Magic(2004)Description / Buy at
The Faery Reel: Tales from the Twilight Realm(2004)Description / Buy at
Firebirds Rising: An Anthology of Original Science Fiction and Fantasy(2005)Description / Buy at
The Coyote Road: Trickster Tales(2007)Description / Buy at
The Unicorn Anthology(2017)Description / Buy at

If You Like Patricia A. McKillip Books, You’ll Love…

The Riddlemaster of Hed is the first book in the Riddlemaster series. The story picks up long after the time of wizards and now all knowledge has been left behind, hidden in riddles. Morgon is the prince of the farmers of Hed and has proven himself to be a master of riddles. He staked his life to win a crown from Lord of Aum, but now finds himself with ancient, evil forces threatening him. He is forced to flee the kingdoms in search of the High One.

McKillip is also the author of The Forggoten Beasts of Eld. The story follows Young Sybel, an heiress to powerful wizards, who is very powerful in her own right. She lives in a stone mansion with her magical beasts: Riddle-master Cyrin the boar, Gyld the dragon, Gules the Lyon, Ter the fiercely vengeful falcon, and Moriah a feline Lady of the Night. Despite her many exotic creatures, Sybel is living a life of solitude until desperate soldier arrives with a mysterious child.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Patricia A. McKillip Books

Leave a Reply