Patricia McLinn is an American author best known for writing the Caught Dead in Wyoming series. She is also the author of the Season in a Small Town series and the Innocence Trilogy.

McLinn received a BA in English Composition from Northwestern University and then went on to Northwestern’s Medill School of Journalism where she earned her master’s degree. She started as a sports writer and eventually found her way to the Washington Post as a journalist, but she always had fiction on her mind. She would eventually make that leap and has published over fifty novels in her career.

Get notified when Patricia McLinn releases a new book at

Publication Order of Bardville, Wyoming Books

A Stranger In The Family (1995)Description / Buy at
A Stranger To Love (1997)Description / Buy at
The Rancher Meets His Match (1998)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Caught Dead in Wyoming Books

Publication Order of Innocence Books

Proof of Innocence (2018)Description / Buy at
Price of Innocence (2021)Description / Buy at
Premise of Innocence (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Marry Me Books

Wedding of the Century (2003)Description / Buy at
The Unexpected Wedding Guest (2003)Description / Buy at
Least Likely Wedding? / A Most Unlikely Wedding (2005)Description / Buy at
Baby Blues and Wedding Bells (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of A Place Called Home Books

Lost - And - Found Groom (2000)Description / Buy at
At the Heart's Command (2000)Description / Buy at
Hidden In A Heartbeat (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Rodeo Knights Books

Her Knight, Her Protector (By: Lisa Mondello) (2015)Description / Buy at
The Knight and the Damsel (By: Margaret Daley) (2015)Description / Buy at
Her Rebel Cowboy (By: Stephanie Rowe) (2017)Description / Buy at
Wilde and Reckless (By: Cathy McDavid) (2017)Description / Buy at
Renegade (By: Laura Marie Altom) (2017)Description / Buy at
Her Cowboy Hero (By: Debra Clopton) (2017)Description / Buy at
Knight Moves (By: Lenora Worth) (2017)Description / Buy at
Ride the River (2017)Description / Buy at
The Bull Rider's Pledge (By: Marin Thomas) (2017)Description / Buy at
Cowboy Charade (By: Barbara McMahon) (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Seasons in a Small Town Books

What Are Friends For? (2006)Description / Buy at
The Right Brother (2006)Description / Buy at
Principal of Love / Falling for Her (2010)Description / Buy at
Warm Front (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Secret Sleuth Books

Death on the Diversion (2018)Description / Buy at
Death on Torrid Ave (2019)Description / Buy at
Abandon All (2019)Description / Buy at
Death on Beguiling Way (2019)Description / Buy at
Death on Covert Circle (2020)Description / Buy at
Death on Shady Bridge (2020)Description / Buy at
Death on Carrion Lane (2021)Description / Buy at
Death on ZigZag Trail (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Wedding Books

Hoops (1990)Description / Buy at
Prelude to a Wedding (1991)Description / Buy at
Wedding Party (1992)Description / Buy at
Grady's Wedding (1993)Description / Buy at
Not A Family Man (1993)Description / Buy at
The Runaway Bride (2002)Description / Buy at
The Christmas Princess (2014)Description / Buy at
The Surprise Princess (2015)Description / Buy at
The Forgotten Prince (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Wyoming Marriage Association Books

First Date: Divorce (2022)Description / Buy at
Second Start: Family (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Wyoming Wildflowers Books

Almost A Bride (2001)Description / Buy at
Match Made In Wyoming (2001)Description / Buy at
My Heart Remembers (2001)Description / Buy at
The Beginning (2013)Description / Buy at
Jack's Heart (2015)Description / Buy at
Where Love Lives (2016)Description / Buy at
A Cowboy Wedding (2017)Description / Buy at
Making Christmas (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ten Shades of Sexy(2012)Description / Buy at

If You Like Patricia McLinn Books, You’ll Love…

Sign Off is the first book in the Caught Dead in Wyoming series. The story follows a TV journalist named Elizabeth Danniher who has seen better days in her career. She used to break national news, but after making an enemy of a powerful executive and getting older – she now finds herself as a reporter in Sherman, Wyoming. Even in this isolated outpost, she finds a way to stay busy. She’s currently investigating a missing deputy who may have been murdered while also dealing with ex-football player turned journalist Mike Paycik who is either using her to advance his career, trying to get romantic, or both. Through it all, Elizabeth won’t go down without a fight.

The Seasons in a Small Town series begins with What Are Friends For?. Zeke was a big geek in high school. He had a big crush on the prom queen Jennifer and often overlooked his best friend Darcie. One night Darcie and Zeke became lovers, but then he left town and never returned. It’s now seventeen years later and the town is struggling. Darcie hatches up a plan to lure Zeke back to town to set him up with Jennifer and save the town, but plans have a way of not working out exactly as you planned.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Patricia McLinn Books

Leave a Reply