Patrick Ness is an American author of YA science fiction and fantasy novels. In addition to being an author, he is also a journalist and lecturer. Patrick is an American expat, living in London, England. He got his British citizenship in 2005 while retaining his American citizenship. He has taught creative writing at Oxford University and has written and reviewed for The Daily Telegraph, The TLS, The Sunday Telegraph and The Guardian.

Patrick Ness made his debut as a novelist in 2003 with the novel The Crash of Hennington. Below is a list of Patrick Ness’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Patrick Ness releases a new book at

Publication Order of Chaos Walking Books

The Knife of Never Letting Go (2008)Description / Buy at
The Ask and the Answer (2009)Description / Buy at
Monsters of Men (2010)Description / Buy at
The New World (2010)Description / Buy at
The Wide, Wide Sea (2013)Description / Buy at
Snowscape (2013)Description / Buy at

Chronological Order of Chaos Walking Books

The New World(2010)Description / Buy at
The Knife of Never Letting Go(2008)Description / Buy at
The Ask and the Answer(2009)Description / Buy at
The Wide, Wide Sea(2013)Description / Buy at
Monsters of Men(2010)Description / Buy at
Snowscape(2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Crash of Hennington (2003)Description / Buy at
A Monster Calls (2011)Description / Buy at
The Crane Wife (2013)Description / Buy at
More Than This (2013)Description / Buy at
The Rest of Us Just Live Here (2015)Description / Buy at
Release (2017)Description / Buy at
And The Ocean Was Our Sky (2018)Description / Buy at
Burn (2020)Description / Buy at
Different for Boys (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Topics About Which I Know Nothing (2005)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Doctor Who 50th Anniversary E-Shorts Books

A Big Hand for the Doctor (By: Eoin Colfer) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Beast of Babylon (By: Charlie Higson) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Nameless City (By: Michael Scott) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Spear of Destiny (By: Marcus Sedgwick) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Roots of Evil (By: Philip Reeve) (2013)Description / Buy at
Tip of the Tongue (2013)Description / Buy at
Something Borrowed: Sixth Doctor (By: Eoin Colfer,Richelle Mead) (2013)Description / Buy at
Doctor Who (By: Malorie Blackman) (2013)Description / Buy at
Spore (By: Alex Scarrow) (2013)Description / Buy at
The Mystery of the Haunted Cottage: Tenth Doctor (By: Derek Landy) (2013)Description / Buy at
Nothing O'Clock (By: Neil Gaiman) (2013)Description / Buy at
Lights Out (By: Holly Black) (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

One for the Trouble: Book Slam Volume 1(2011)Description / Buy at
The Booby Trap and Other Bits and Boobs(2013)Description / Buy at
Doctor Who: 11 Doctors, 11 Stories(2013)Description / Buy at
Monstrous Affections: An Anthology of Beastly Tales(2014)Description / Buy at
Doctor Who: 12 Doctors, 12 Stories(2014)Description / Buy at
Doctor Who: Thirteen Doctors, 13 Stories(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Patrick Ness Books, You’ll Love…

Patrick Ness Synopsis: The Monster Calls is a standalone novel by Patrick Ness, based on an idea by the late author Siobhan Dowd. At seven minutes after midnight, thirteen-year-old Conor wakes to find a monster outside his bedroom window. But it isn’t the monster Conor’s been expecting – he’s been expecting the one from his nightmare that he’s had nearly every night since his mother began her treatments. The monster in his backyard is different. It’s both ancient and wild. And it wants something from Conor. Something terrible and dangerous. It wants the truth.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Patrick Ness Books

Leave a Reply