Paul Murray is an Irish author of comic fiction novels. He studied English literature at Trinity College, Dublin. He also earned his Master’s degree in creative writing at the University of East Anglia.

Paul Murray made his debut as a novelist in 2003 with the novel An Evening of Long Goodbyes. The novel was shortlisted for the Whitbread Prize and nominated for the Kerry Irish Fiction Award. In addition, his novel Skippy Dies was longlisted for the 2010 Booker Prize and the 2010 Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Award for comic fiction. Below is a list of Paul Murray’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Paul Murray releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

An Evening of Long Goodbyes (2003)Description / Buy at
Skippy Dies (2010)Description / Buy at
The Mark and the Void (2015)Description / Buy at
The Bee Sting (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

One for the Trouble: Book Slam Volume 1(2011)Description / Buy at
Dubliners 100(2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Paul Murray Books, You’ll Love…

Paul Murray Synopses: An Evening of Long Goodbyes by Paul Murray is the story of Charles Hythloday and the heroic squandering of the family inheritance. Set in Dublin, the novel covers topics including drinking, greyhound racing, vanishing furniture, more drinking, old movies, assorted Dublin lowlife, eviction and the perils of community theatre.

The Mark and the Void is a standalone title by Paul Murray. What links the Investment Bank of Torabundo, (yes, hots with an s, don’t ask), an art heist, a novel called For the Love of a Clown, a four-year-old boy named after TV detective Remington Steele, a lonely French banker, a tiny Pacific island, and a pest control business run by an ex-KGB man? You guessed it…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Paul Murray Books

Leave a Reply