Paul Watkins Sam Eastland (Photo Credit: Christopher Lane)
Paul Watkins is an American author of fiction and historical fiction as well as crime fiction under the pen name of Sam Eastland. He has split his whole life between the US and UK, attending Dragon School, Oxford, Eton and Yale University (where he earned his B.A.). Paul currently works as a teacher and writer-in-residence at The Peddie School and has taught at Lawrenceville School in the past. He lives with his wife and two children in Hightstown, New Jersey.

Paul Watkins wrote his debut novel, Night Over Day Over Night, when he was 16 years old. It was published in 1988. His next novel, Calm at Sunset, Calm at Dawn won the 1990 Encore Award for best second novel. Below is a list of Paul Watkins’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Paul Watkins releases a new book at

Publication Order of Inspector Pekkala Books

(as Sam Eastland)

Eye of the Red Tsar (2010)Description / Buy at
The Red Coffin / Shadow Pass (2011)Description / Buy at
Archive 17 / Siberian Red (2012)Description / Buy at
The Red Moth (2013)Description / Buy at
The Beast in the Red Forest (2013)Description / Buy at
Red Icon (2015)Description / Buy at
Berlin Red (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Night Over Day Over Night (1988)Description / Buy at
Calm at Sunset, Calm at Dawn (1989)Description / Buy at
In the Blue Light of African Dreams (1990)Description / Buy at
The Promise of Light (1992)Description / Buy at
Archangel (1995)Description / Buy at
The Story of My Disappearance (1997)Description / Buy at
The Forger (2000)Description / Buy at
Thunder God (2004)Description / Buy at
The Ice Soldier (2006)Description / Buy at
The Elegant Lie (As: Sam Eastland) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Stand Before Your God (1994)Description / Buy at
The Fellowship of Ghosts (2004)Description / Buy at
Midget Submarine Commander: The Life of Godfrey Place VC (2012)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Inspector Pekkala series is written as Sam Eastland. The Red Coffin was also published under the title of Shadow Pass (USA). Siberian Red is also titled Archive 17 (USA).

If You Like Paul Watkins Books, You’ll Love…

Paul Watkins Synopsis: Paul Watkins’ debut novel, Night Over Day Over Night is about Sebastian Westland’s life from childhood all the way to the battlefield. It is there where he will lose everything – his past, his innoncence and even his name.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Paul Watkins Books

Leave a Reply