Peter Høeg is a Danish author who is best known for his novel, Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow that won numerous awards upon its release and was a major success upon its release. After that novel he would release The Woman and the Ape which would not have the same reception which led him to disappear for awhile before returning with The Quiet Girl is 2006.

Høeg was born in Copenhagen where he later attended the University of Copenhagen where he graduated with a Master of Arts in Literature. Before becoming a writer, he held numerous jobs in many fields as he worked as a sailor, ballet dancer, and actor.

Get notified when Peter Høeg releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The History of Danish Dreams (1988)Description / Buy at
Smilla's Sense of Snow / Miss Smilla's Feeling for Snow (1993)Description / Buy at
Borderliners (1994)Description / Buy at
The Woman and the Ape (1996)Description / Buy at
The Quiet Girl (2007)Description / Buy at
The Elephant Keepers' Children (2012)Description / Buy at
The Susan Effect (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Tales of the Night (1990)Description / Buy at

If You Like Peter Høeg Books, You’ll Love…

Miss Smilla’s Feeling for Snow follows the analytical Smilla. She is not interested in love and instead focuses on numbers, science, and memories. The snow and ice offer more comfort to her than love which really shakes her when she sees her six-year-old neighbor dead in the snow. He fell from the top of his apartment building and the police have ruled the death as an accident. Smilla knows that is untrue though and she begins following the clues to what really happened. That path will lead through a world of lies, revelation and violence, a world she never saw herself in.

Høeg also wrote The Quiet Girl. The book follows a world-renowned circus clown named Kaspar Krone. He’s got an enormous gambling debt and is wanted for tax evasion by the authorities. His only respite is a mysterious order of nuns who promise him reprieve from the international authorities in return for his help safeguarding a group of children with mystical abilities. He agrees to help as he has those same abilities, but things get complicated when one of the children goes missing and Krone tries to bring her back, discovering a myriad of secrets along the way.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Peter Høeg Books

Leave a Reply