PL Travers (Photo Credit: State Library of NSW)
P.L. Travers (1899-1996) was an Australian-English author of children’s books. She is best known for creating Mary Poppins. Travers began getting her poems published as a teenager in multiple publications. At the same time, she was also making a name for herself as an actress. After touring Australia and New Zealand, she left Australia for England in 1924. It would be after settling in England that she would begin writing Mary Poppins stories. Travers’ story was made into the movie Saving Mr. Banks, where she was portrayed by Emma Thompson (opposite Tom Hanks as Walt Disney).

P.L. Travers became a published novelist in 1934 with the novel Mary Poppins. Below is a list of P.L. Travers’ books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Mary Poppins Books

Mary Poppins (1934)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins Comes Back (1935)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins Opens the Door (1943)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins in the Park (1952)Description / Buy at
The Gingerbread Shop (1952)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins from A to Z (1962)Description / Buy at
Mr. Wigg's Birthday Party (1962)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins in the Kitchen (1975)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins in Cherry Tree Lane (1982)Description / Buy at
Mary Poppins and the House Next Door (1988)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

I Go by Sea, I Go by Land (1941)Description / Buy at
The Fox at the Manger (1962)Description / Buy at
Friend Monkey (1971)Description / Buy at
About the Sleeping Beauty (1975)Description / Buy at
Two Pairs of Shoes (1976)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Aunt Sass: Christmas Stories (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

What the Bee Knows: Reflections on Myth, Symbol and Story (1990)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Flights of Fancy(1993)Description / Buy at

If You Like P.L. Travers Books, You’ll Love…

P.L. Travers Synopses: About the Sleeping Beauty by P.L. Travers contains five different versions of the Sleeping Beauty fairy tale, plus P.L. Travers’ own interpretation as well as an essay on Sleeping Beauty and other fairy tales.

Two Pairs of Shoes by P.L. Travers contains two re-tellings of Middle Eastern folk tales about how the shoes are a look into the character of their owner.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of P.L. Travers Books

Leave a Reply