Ragnar Jonasson is an Icelandic author of crime thriller novels. He writes the Dark Iceland series. He is an international bestselling author. Ragnar was born in Reykjavik, Iceland, where he works as a writer and a lawyer. He also teaches copyright law at Reykjavik University. In the past, he has worked in radio and television, including as a TV news reporter for the Icelandic National Broadcasting Service.

Ragnar Jonasson made his debut as a novelist in 2015 with the novel Snowblind. Below is a list of Ragnar Jonasson’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Ragnar Jónasson releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Dark Iceland Books

Snowblind / Snjóblinda (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Blackout / Myrknætti (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Rupture / Rof (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Whiteout / Andköf (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Nightblind / Náttblinda (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Winterkill / Vetrarmein (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Hidden Iceland Books

Chronological Order of Hidden Iceland Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Girl Who Died (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Outside (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Reykjavík (With: Katrín Jakobsdóttir) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Death at the Sanatorium (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

CWA Anthology of Short Stories: Mystery Tour(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Ragnar Jonasson Books, You’ll Love…

Ragnar Jonasson Synopsis: The Darkness is the first Inspector Hulda Hermannsdottir novel by Ragnar Jonasson. The body of a young Russian woman washes up on the shore in Iceland. After a cursory investigation, the death is ruled a suicide and the case is quietly closed. Over a year later Detective Inspector Hulda Hermannsdottir of the Reykjavik police is forced into early retirement at 64. She dreads the loneliness, and the memories of her dark past are rising back to the surface of her mind. But before she leaves she is given the chance to solve any one cold case of her choosing within two weeks. It’s an easy decision – the Russian woman whose hope for asylum ended on the dark, cold shore of an unfamiliar country. Soon Hulda discovers that another young woman vanished at the same time, and that no one is telling her the whole story. Even her colleagues in the police seem determined to put her investigation to a screeching halt. Meanwhile the clock is ticking. Hulda will find the killer, even if she must put her own life at risk in the process.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Ragnar Jonasson Books

6 Responses to “Order of Ragnar Jonasson Books”

  1. Agnes campbell: 3 years ago

    When will the English translation of Frost be available in uk please?I can only find the German edition.


  2. Richard: 3 years ago

    It is very frustrating that the publication order of the books in the US has absolutely nothing to do with the actual chronological order of the character history and development. I am now reading what I thought was the last in the series but now I’m not so sure. Is there anyone putting books in order who has actually read all the books and can provide the correct order for reading? It is pretty stupid to read about a child being born in a book after having read that the couple were split in the previous book, or that an officer is killed and then in the next one you read he just arrived in town. Publication date becomes immaterial regardless of what country it is published in. No one would purposely read the Louis Penny’s Gamache book that takes place in Paris before reading about the events leading up to it. Why is this so difficult.


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      You could read them in the original publication order in Sweden which is listed above?


  3. Pamela Reising: 3 years ago

    I am enjoying the Dark Iceland Series and prefer to read books in order so t can enjoy the character development. My library states that Night Blind is the second book in the series. Is that correct? What is the actual order of the books in this series, please? Were they translated into English out of order?
    Thank you for the clarification.


    • Graeme: 3 years ago

      Yes the listing we had above – as stated – was the publication order of the books in English. However I have added the chronological order to the list too which is based on the original publication dates. The only change to this is Nightblind. Hope that helps 🙂


  4. Huw Roberts: 4 years ago

    Dark Iceland Series:
    This is the order in which the English translations were published but the originals, in Icelandic, were written and published in a different order: “Nightblind” is not the second title but the 5th and final title if the reader wants to follow the series in its chronological and sensible order.


Leave a Reply