Gunnar Staalesen
Gunnar Staalesen is a Norwegian author of Scandinavian crime fiction novels. He writes the Varg Veum series. Gunnar was born and raised in Bergen, Norway, which is on the west coast of the country. He earned his Cand.philol degree from Universitetet i Bergen and worked in the main theatre in the city.

Gunnar Staalesen became a published author in 1969 with Uskyldstider. His first work to be published in English was At Night All Wolves Are Grey in 1986, which is the first time English-speaking readers would meet the Varg Veum character. The novel was published in Norwegian three years earlier. Although he only has a few books in English thus far, he is a prolific author in his native language. Below is a list of Gunnar Staalesen’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Gunnar Staalesen releases a new book at

Publication Order of Varg Veum Books

Yours Until Death (1979)Description / Buy at
At Night All Wolves Are Grey (1983)Description / Buy at
Fallen Angels (1989)Description / Buy at
The Writing on the Wall (1995)Description / Buy at
The Consorts of Death (2006)Description / Buy at
Cold Hearts (2008)Description / Buy at
We Shall Inherit the Wind (2010)Description / Buy at
Where Roses Never Die (2012)Description / Buy at
Wolves in the Dark (2014)Description / Buy at
Big Sister (2016)Description / Buy at
Wolves at the Door (2020)Description / Buy at
Bitter Flowers (2021)Description / Buy at
Mirror Image (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dumbo og Maskefjes Books

Rygg i rand, to i spann (1975)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Copenhagen Noir(2010)Description / Buy at

If You Like Gunnar Staalesen Books, You’ll Love…

Gunnar Staalesen Synopsis: In Yours Until Death by Gunnar Staalesen, under the shadow of the Lyderhorn – a mountain in Bergen, Norway – single-mother families were being robbed, harassed, terrorized and molested by a gang of thugs led by Joker. Joker dresses like a priest, but with mean eyes and horrible teeth. Varg Veum, a private investigator, first came to know of this gang at their torture chamber. An 8 year-old named Roar’s bike was stolen, but no adults even considered getting it back. But such a crime was nothing compared to what would happen once Veum met Roar’s separated parents.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Gunnar Staalesen Books

2 Responses to “Order of Gunnar Staalesen Books”

  1. Judy Torrence: 6 years ago

    Other sites list 19 & 20 titles. Have titles changed with different translations?


  2. Ruffian: 7 years ago

    What about We Shall Inherit the Wind?


Leave a Reply