Randy Ribay is a Filipino-American author who writes young adult novels. In addition to his career as a writer, he is also a high school English teacher.

Ribay grew up in Michigan and Colorado before heading to the University of Colorado at Boulder for college. He spent a few years there before finishing up at the Harvard Graduate School of Education. He would stick around on the east coast for a long time before moving to San Francisco. His book, Patron Saints of Nothing was longlisted for the 2019 National Book Awardd for Young Peoples Literature.

Get notified when Randy Ribay releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Chronicles of the Avatar Books

The Rise of Kyoshi (By: Michael Dante DiMartino,F.C. Yee) (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Shadow of Kyoshi (By: F.C. Yee) (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Dawn of Yangchen (By: F.C. Yee) (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Legacy of Yangchen (By: F.C. Yee) (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Reckoning of Roku (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

An Infinite Number of Parallel Universes (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
After the Shot Drops (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Patron Saints of Nothing (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
Everything We Never Had (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

Publication Order of Anthologies

Welcome Home(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Grimoire of Grave Fates(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Collectors: Stories(2024)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Randy Ribay Books, You’ll Love…

Ribay’s breakout novel was Patron Saints of Nothing. This book sees Jay Reguero, a Filipino-American teenager, planning to spend his last semester of senior year taking it easy before he heads off to college. Things change for him when his Filipino cousin Jun is murdered as part of the war on drugs. Nobody wants to talk about it so Jay heads down to the Philippines to find out what happened. Jay’s search for the truth will lead him down some uncomfortable paths as he’s forced to confront who his cousin really was and accept the fact that his actions may have played a part in his cousin’s death.

Ribay followed that book up with After the Shot Drops, a basketball centered novel. The book tells the story of two best friends, Bunny and Nassir. They play basketabll, but Nassir ends up feeling betrayed when Bunny takes a scholarship at a fancy school across town. Bunny does his best to fit in with his new, affluent peers at his new school. While Nassir ends up spending more time with his cousin Wallace who is being evicted. Nassir tries to make sense of why the neighborhood is so eager to help Bunny, but not Wallace when he’s the one in need of it. Nassir will end up torn between family and friendship when Wallace and Bunny make a dangerous bet.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Randy Ribay Books

Leave a Reply