Richard Aleas is a pen name of American novelist Charles Ardai, who writes hardboiled crime fiction under this pseudonym. He writes the John Blake series. Both of Aleas’ John Blake novels have been optioned by Universal Pictures as films.

Richard Aleas made his debut as a novelist in 2004 with the novel Little Girl Lost. Below is a list of Richard Aleas’s books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Richard Aleas releases a new book at

Publication Order of John Blake Books

Little Girl Lost (2004)Description / Buy at
Songs of Innocence (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Silent Night, Deadly Night(2016)Description / Buy at

If You Like Richard Aleas Books, You’ll Love…

Richard Aleas Synopsis: Little Girl Lost is the first John Black novel by Richard Aleas. Miranda Sugarman was supposed to be in the Midwest, working as an eye doctor. So how did she end up shot to death on the roof of one of New York City’s seediest strip clubs? It’s John Blake’s job to find out – not just because he’s a private investigator, but because ten years earlier, Miranda had been his lover. Now he has to uncover the truth about the missing decade, about Miranda’s secret life as half of the strip club circuit’s hottest act, and about the vicious underworld figure she worked for. But the closer John gets to the truth, the more dangerous his investigation becomes, until a shattering faceoff in an East Village tenement changes his life forever.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Richard Aleas Books

Leave a Reply