Rick Reed is an American author and retired Homicide detective out of Evansville, Indiana. He is the author of the Jack Murphy series of crime thrillers that focus on serial killers of the worst order and Detective Jack Murphy’s hunt for them.

Reed is trained in numerous police situations including hostage negotiation and he is also a handwriting expert. During his career, he wrote an underground newspaper known as The Monkey Boy Gazette that would roast his fellow officers, politicians and other public figures. When he wrote an uncomplimentary piece about the mayor, the police launched an investigation which exposed him and didn’t win him many friends. When the Chief of Police sent him to Internal Affairs to run the unit his reasoning was simple “everyone already hates you.” This was when he realized he needed to write and began working towards that when he published the true crime book, Blood Trail.

Get notified when Rick Reed releases a new book at BookNotification.com.

Publication Order of Jack Murphy Thriller Books

The Cruelest Cut (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Coldest Fear (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Deepest Wound (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Highest Stakes (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Darkest Night (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Slowest Death (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Deadliest Sins (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Cleanest Kill (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon.com
The Fiercest Enemy (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon.com

If You Like Rick Reed Books, You’ll Love…

The Cruelest Cut, is the start of the Jack Murphy series. The book sees a series of awful crimes taking place. The first victim is attacked in her home and is forced to watch everything that happens to her, but she’s unable to scream. The second murder is even more twisted, but the killer leaves a twisted nursery rhyme behind that ends with the simple warning: there will be more. Detective Jack Murphy takes this as an invitation to play and comes at the killer, hard.

Another good book in the Jack Murphy series is The Deadliest Sins. An abandoned truck is fulled with murdered immigrants and Jack Murphy is on the case. There is a lone survivor, a possible witness, and government interference. Murphy thinks the killer is doing it in the name of protecting America, but for Murphy the worst crime is to look the other way. He wants justice.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Rick Reed Books

Leave a Reply