Rion Amilcar Scott is a short story author who has written the story collections, Insurrections and The World Doesn’t Require You. His debut, Insurrections, was awarded the 2017 PEN/Bingham Prize for Debut Fiction and the 2017 Hillsdale Award from the Fellowship of Southern Writers.

Amilcar Scott is from Maryland and went on to attend George Mason University where he won the Mary Roberts Rinehart award, a Completion Fellowship and an Alumni Exemplar Award. In addition to his work as a writer, he works as a teacher of Creative Writing at the University of Maryland. Many of his stories have been published in journals, including The Kenyon Review, Crab Orchard Review, and The Rumpus.

Get notified when Rion Amilcar Scott releases a new book at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

202 Checkmates (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The World Doesn't Require You (2016)Description / Buy at
Insurrections (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Long Hidden(2014)Description / Buy at
Why I Like This Story(2019)Description / Buy at
Trouble the Waters: Tales from the Deep Blue(2022)Description / Buy at
Out There Screaming: An Anthology of New Black Horror(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Rion Amilcar Scott Books, You’ll Love…

Insurrections is the short story collection that put Rion Amilcar Scott on the map. The book tells multiple authentic stories of individuals growing up and growing old in an African American community. The book tells multiple captivating stories about Cross River, the fictional town that is the United States’ only successful slave rebellion town. Scott is very in touch with the community and aware of the hopes and desires of the residents, which makes for an excellent read. Many of the stories have a lingering aspect to them that will keep you thinking about them long after reading.

Rion Amilcar Scott returns to Cross River for The World Doesn’t Require You. The stories in the book range from funny to dark, and cross genres from fantasy to science fiction to horror, all capturing the unique spirit of Cross River. One of the better stories in the collection is “Special Topics in Loneliness Studies.” The book follows a former professor at Freedman’s University that is no longer employed, but continues to teach classes year after year. His goal is to destroy academia as we know it and replace it with an army of “ghost professors” like him. The story is powerful and unexpected, just like the rest of the collection.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Rion Amilcar Scott Books

Leave a Reply