Robert Rankin is a British author of comedic fantasy novels. He writes the Brentford series, Cornelius Murphy series, Japanese Devil Fish Girl series, and more. Robert often sets his novels in Brentford, which is the London suburb he grew up in. He mixes science fiction, occult, urban legends, gags, metafiction and steampunk together. His goal became to create a new genre called Far-Fetched Fiction, and get its own section into bookstores.

Robert Rankin made his debut as a published novelist in 1981 with the novel The Antipope. Below is a list of Robert Rankin’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Robert Rankin releases a new book at

Publication Order of Brentford Books

The Antipope (1981)Description / Buy at
The Brentford Triangle (1982)Description / Buy at
East of Ealing (1984)Description / Buy at
The Sprouts of Wrath (1988)Description / Buy at
The Brentford Chainstore Massacre (1997)Description / Buy at
Sex and Drugs and Sausage Rolls (1999)Description / Buy at
Knees Up Mother Earth (2004)Description / Buy at
The Brightonomicon (2005)Description / Buy at
The Lord of the Ring Roads (2017)Description / Buy at
The Chronicles of Banarnia (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Armageddon Books

Armageddon: The Musical (1990)Description / Buy at
They Came and Ate Us (1991)Description / Buy at
The Suburban Book of the Dead (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Barking Mad Trilogy Books

Sprout Mask Replica (1997)Description / Buy at
The Dance of the Voodoo Handbag (1998)Description / Buy at
Waiting For Godalming (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Cornelius Murphy Books

The Book of Ultimate Truths (1993)Description / Buy at
Raiders of the Lost Carpark (1994)Description / Buy at
The Greatest Show Off Earth (1994)Description / Buy at
The Most Amazing Man Who Ever Lived (1995)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Eddie Bear Books

The Hollow Chocolate Bunnies of the Apocalypse (2002)Description / Buy at
The Toyminator (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Japanese Devil Fish Girl Books

The Japanese Devil Fish Girland Other Unnatural Attractions (2010)Description / Buy at
The Mechanical Messiah and Other Marvels of the Modern Age (2011)Description / Buy at
The Educated Ape and Other Wonders of the World (2012)Description / Buy at
The Chickens of Atlantis and Other Foul and Filthy Fiends (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Garden of Unearthly Delights (1995)Description / Buy at
A Dog Called Demolition (1996)Description / Buy at
Nostradamus Ate My Hamster (1996)Description / Buy at
Apocalypso (1998)Description / Buy at
Snuff Fiction (1999)Description / Buy at
The Fandom of the Operator (2001)Description / Buy at
Web Site Story (2001)Description / Buy at
The Witches of Chiswick (2003)Description / Buy at
The Da Da De Da Da Code (2007)Description / Buy at
Necrophenia (2008)Description / Buy at
Retromancer (2009)Description / Buy at
The Abominable Showman (2014)Description / Buy at

If You Like Robert Rankin Books, You’ll Love…

Robert Rankin Synopses: In The Garden of Unearthly Delights by Robert Rankin, It was something to do with the cycles of history, the way great civilizations rise and fall. Few people noticed the changes at first, and by the time everyone realized, it was too late. Earth had left behind the age of science and reason and moved into a time of myth, legend, wizardry, and heroes.

In Apocalypso by Robert Rankin, The Ministry of Serendipity at Mornington Crescent runs everything. When it learns about a spacecraft that crashed into the Pacific 4000 years ago, it sends a team of paranormal investigators to recover it. Danbury Collins is on the team, but he isn’t keen – what if a mad alien thaws out?

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Robert Rankin Books

Leave a Reply