Roberto Ampuero is a Chilean author and columnist. His first novel was ¿Quién mató a Kristián Kustermann?. That book introduced his character of Cayetano Brulé, a private eye.

In addition to his work as a writer, Ampuero also served as the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Chile from March 11, 2018 to June 13, 2019. He married Margarita Flores in 1974 and the two lived in Cuba. That marriage wouldn’t last long, ending in 1977, but he ended up staying in Cuba for another two years where he obtained a B.A. in Latin American Literature. After this he made his way to East Germany where he got a Marxist education. He would cross over to West Germany in 1983 where he began writing and eventually published his first novel, El Hombre Golondrina. Roberto now makes his home in Iowa where he works at the University of Iowa as a professor in the Department of Spanish and Portuguese.

Get notified when Roberto Ampuero releases a new book at

Publication Order of Cayetano Brulé Books

The Neruda Case (2008)Description / Buy at

If You Like Roberto Ampuero Books, You’ll Love…

The Neruda Case was finally published in English in 2012. The book introduces readers to Cayetano Brulé as he takes on his first case as a private eye. Ampuero draws on many of his own experiences as the book is set against the political world of pre-Pinochet Chile, Castro’s Cuba, and East Berlin. The story kicks off as Cayetano meets the poet at a party in Chile in the 1970s. The dying Neruda asks Cayetano to help him solve the one great mystery of his life. He fumbles around at first as he finds it hard to embrace the role of an inspector, but he gets better as he goes along and starts to learn about Neruda’s hidden agenda. Cayetano is sent on an expedition around the world and finally back to Chile, just as Pinochet’s coup plays out.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Roberto Ampuero Books

Leave a Reply