Sandra Bretting is an American author who is known for her Missy DuBois series of books.

Sandra was born in Southern California where she grew up before moving to the Midwest to attend university. She attended the University of Missouri School of Journalism, but soon after starting classes she found her passion in creative writing. She would work freelance back home in California for the Los Angeles Times, but she continued to study creative writing and hone her craft. She would eventually end up in Texas where she writes for a newspaper and writes her books. She lives with her husband and children.

Get notified when Sandra Bretting releases a new book at

Publication Order of Missy DuBois Mystery Books

Murder at Morningside (2016)Description / Buy at
Something Foul at Sweetwater (2016)Description / Buy at
Someone's Mad at the Hatter (2017)Description / Buy at
Death Comes to Dogwood Manor (2018)Description / Buy at
All Hats on Deck (2019)Description / Buy at
What the Hatmaker Heard (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Unholy Lies (2012)Description / Buy at
Bless the Dying (2014)Description / Buy at
The Safecracker's Secret (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Religious Books

Shameless Persistence: Lessons from a Modern Miracle (2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Sandra Bretting Books, You’ll Love…

Murder at Morningside is the first book in the Missy DuBois Mystery series. Missy is a hat designer who has just opened up her own shop called Crowning Glory. The products she creates are aimed at the sophisticated Southern brides. When Missy is brought in to craft a veil for a socialite getting married at the Morningside Plantation, she is shocked to find the bride dead in the women’s bathroom. There is a huge list of suspects and virtually anyone could have done it, but Missy wants to finish the job and in this case that means finding the killer.

Another good book in the series is called Someone’s Mad at the Hatter. It’s New Year’s Eve in Missy’s town and that means people are prone to over indulgence. You might expect to see someone passed out like wedding planner Charlotte Deveraux is, you just don’t expect them to be dead inside a whiskey barrel like Charlotte Deveraux is. It turns out the murder weapon is an old hat stand that belonged to Missy and customers all over town are cancelling their appointments and blaming Missy. In order to clear her name, she’ll need to solve this murder herself.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sandra Bretting Books

Leave a Reply