Sharyn McCrumb is an American author of crime fiction, mystery novels and Appalachian fiction. She writes the Elizabeth MacPherson series and the Ballad series. Sharyn has won the Edgar Award, Agatha Award, Nero Award, Anthony Award and Macavity Award for her work. She earned her Master’s Degree in English from Virginia Tech. Her novels have been translated into eleven different languages.

Sharyn McCrumb made her fiction debut in 1984 with the novel Sick of Shadows, which began her Elizabeth MacPherson mystery series. Below is a list of Sharyn McCrumb’s books in order of when they were first published:

Get notified when Sharyn McCrumb releases a new book at

Publication Order of Ballad Books

If Ever I Return, Pretty Peggy-O (1990)Description / Buy at
The Hangman's Beautiful Daughter (1992)Description / Buy at
She Walks These Hills (1994)Description / Buy at
The Rosewood Casket (1996)Description / Buy at
The Ballad of Frankie Silver (1997)Description / Buy at
The Songcatcher (2001)Description / Buy at
Ghost Riders (2003)Description / Buy at
The Devil Amongst the Lawyers (2010)Description / Buy at
The Ballad of Tom Dooley (2011)Description / Buy at
King's Mountain (2013)Description / Buy at
Nora Bonesteel's Christmas Past (2014)Description / Buy at
Prayers the Devil Answers (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Elizabeth MacPherson Books

Sick of Shadows (1984)Description / Buy at
Lovely in Her Bones (1985)Description / Buy at
Highland Laddie Gone (1986)Description / Buy at
Paying the Piper (1988)Description / Buy at
The Windsor Knot (1990)Description / Buy at
Missing Susan (1991)Description / Buy at
MacPherson's Lament (1992)Description / Buy at
If I'd Killed Him When I Met Him... (1995)Description / Buy at
The PMS Outlaws (2000)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Jay Omega Books

Bimbos of the Death Sun (1987)Description / Buy at
Zombies of the Gene Pool (1992)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of St. Dale Books

St. Dale (2005)Description / Buy at
Once Around The Track (2007)Description / Buy at
Faster Pastor (With: Adam Edwards) (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Unquiet Grave (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

A Wee Doch and Doris (1989)Description / Buy at
The Luncheon (1990)Description / Buy at
Remains to Be Seen (1990)Description / Buy at
Happiness Is a Dead Poet (1992)Description / Buy at
The Monster of Glarnis (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Our Separate Days (1989)Description / Buy at
Foggy Mountain Breakdown and Other Stories (1997)Description / Buy at
Fairy Tale Princesses of the Civil War (2012)Description / Buy at
Old Land, Dark Land, Strange Land (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Sharyn McCrumb's Appalachia (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Transgressions Books

Transgressions (With: Stephen King,Lawrence Block,Anne Perry,Jeffery Deaver,Ed McBain,Donald E Westlake,Bonnie Jeanne Perry,Joyce Carol Oates,Walter Mosley,John Farris) (2005)Description / Buy at
Transgressions, Vol. 2 (By: Stephen King,Lawrence Block,Ed McBain,John Farris) (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Mistletoe Mysteries(1989)Description / Buy at
Sisters in Crime 2(1990)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 1(1992)Description / Buy at
Women of Mystery II(1994)Description / Buy at
Partners in Crime(1994)Description / Buy at
The Year's 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories 1995(1996)Description / Buy at
Great Writers and Kids Write Mystery Stories(1996)Description / Buy at
Vengeance is Hers(1997)Description / Buy at
First Cases, Volume 2(1997)Description / Buy at
Mystery's Most Wanted(1997)Description / Buy at
AZ Murder Goes... Artful(1997)Description / Buy at
Once Upon a Crime(1998)Description / Buy at
Malice Domestic 7(1998)Description / Buy at
Murder, My Dear Watson(2002)Description / Buy at
The Dark: New Ghost Stories(2003)Description / Buy at
The World\\\'s Finest Mystery and Crime Stories: 4(2003)Description / Buy at
The Longman Anthology of Detective Fiction(2004)Description / Buy at
Mr. President, Private Eye(2004)Description / Buy at
The World's Finest Mystery and Crime Stories 5(2004)Description / Buy at
Thou Shalt Not Kill(2005)Description / Buy at
Transgressions(2005)Description / Buy at
Transgressions vol. 4(2006)Description / Buy at
Poe: 19 New Tales of Suspense, Dark Fantasy, and Horror Inspired by Edgar Allan Poe(2008)Description / Buy at
Blood Lite(2008)Description / Buy at
The Monster's Corner(2011)Description / Buy at
27 Views of Asheville: A Southern Mountain Town in Prose & Poetry(2012)Description / Buy at
Not Everyone's Cup of Tea(2013)Description / Buy at

Notes: If Ever I Return, Pretty Peggy-O was also published as If Ever I Return. Faster Pastor was co-authored by Adam Edwards.

If You Like Sharyn McCrumb Books, You’ll Love…

Sharyn McCrumb Synopses: Sharyn McCrumb’s Appalachia is a non-fiction book, collecting the essays of Sharyn McCrumb. The collection includes Keepers of the Legends, A Novelist Looks at the Land, The Celts and the Appalachians, Magic Realism in Appalachia, Nora Bonesteel and the Sight, and Reflections on Historical Fiction.

Our Separate Days by Sharyn McCrumb is a collection of both short stories and poems about life in southern Appalachia.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Sharyn McCrumb Books

One Response to “Order of Sharyn McCrumb Books”

  1. Elizabeth Alexander: 7 months ago

    I have read almost all of Sharyn McCrumb books.


Leave a Reply