Silvia Moreno-Garcia is a Mexican-Canadian author who wrote the novels Gods of Jade and Shadow, Certain Dark Things, and Untamed Shore, among others. She debuted with Signal to Noise that won her a Coppery Cylinder Award.

Moreo-Garcia has an MA in Science and Technology Studies from the University of British Columbia. In addition to being an author, Silvia is the publisher of Innsmouth Free Press and also co-edits the horror magazine The Dark with Sean Wallace. She also writes book reviews for NPR and is a columnist with the Washington Post.

Get notified when Silvia Moreno-Garcia releases a new book at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Signal to Noise (2015)Description / Buy at
Certain Dark Things (2016)Description / Buy at
The Beautiful Ones (2017)Description / Buy at
Gods of Jade and Shadow (2019)Description / Buy at
Untamed Shore (2020)Description / Buy at
Mexican Gothic (2020)Description / Buy at
Velvet Was the Night (2021)Description / Buy at
The Daughter of Doctor Moreau (2022)Description / Buy at
Silver Nitrate (2023)Description / Buy at
The Seventh Veil of Salome (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Prime Meridian (2017)Description / Buy at
The Return of the Sorceress (2021)Description / Buy at
The Tiger Came to the Mountains (2022)Description / Buy at
The Lover (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

This Strange Way of Dying (2011)Description / Buy at
Love & Other Poisons (2014)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Writer's Guide to Speculative Fiction: Science Fiction and Fantasy (With: Crawford Kilian) (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Bards and Sages Quarterly Volume 2 Issue 2 April 2010(2009)Description / Buy at
Time in a Bottle, Volume 1(2010)Description / Buy at
Historical Lovecraft(2011)Description / Buy at
Evolve 2(2011)Description / Buy at
The Book of Cthulhu(2011)Description / Buy at
Candle in the Attic Window(2011)Description / Buy at
Where Thy Dark Eye Glances: Queering Edgar Allan Poe(2012)Description / Buy at
Imaginarium 2012(2012)Description / Buy at
Fungi(2012)Description / Buy at
Masked Mosaic: Canadian Super Stories(2013)Description / Buy at
Zombies: Shambling Through the Ages(2013)Description / Buy at
We See a Different Frontier(2013)Description / Buy at
Tales of Jack the Ripper(2013)Description / Buy at
Mothership: Tales from Afrofuturism and Beyond(2013)Description / Buy at
Dead North(2013)Description / Buy at
Fractured(2014)Description / Buy at
Sword & Mythos(2014)Description / Buy at
They Have to Take You in(2014)Description / Buy at
Dangerous Games(2014)Description / Buy at
The Starry Wisdom Library(2014)Description / Buy at
Imaginarium 3(2015)Description / Buy at
The Exile Book of New Canadian Noir(2015)Description / Buy at
More Recent Weird(2015)Description / Buy at
Postscripts to Darkness Volume 6(2015)Description / Buy at
Edge of Sundown: Tales of Horror in the Wild West(2015)Description / Buy at
She Walks in Shadows(2015)Description / Buy at
The Mammoth Book of Cthulhu(2016)Description / Buy at
Imaginarium 4(2016)Description / Buy at
Nightmare Magazine 60: September 2017(2017)Description / Buy at
Apex Magazine Issue 103(2017)Description / Buy at
The Outcast Hours(2019)Description / Buy at
Nebula Awards Showcase 2019(2019)Description / Buy at
Shimmer: The Best Of(2020)Description / Buy at
The Best of World SF, Volume 1(2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Silvia Moreno-Garcia Books, You’ll Love…

Gods of Jade and Shadow is Moreno-Garcia’s fairytale rooted in Mexican mythology. The book takes place in the Jazz Age, but Casiopea Tun is not a part of it. She is too busy cleaning floors and only has time to dream of a life far away from where she is now. One day, she finds a myserious wooden box in her grandfather’s room and accidentally frees the spirit of the Mayan God of death. The God requests her help recovering his throne for his brother. Success could make her dreams come true, but failure could mean the end of her. She has no choice but to agree and her journey will take her from the jungles of Yucatán to the bright lights of Mexico City—and deep into the darkness of the Mayan underworld.

She is also the author of Signal to Noise which takes place in Mexico City in 1988. The book tells the story of Meche who leans to cast the spells of magic using music and it makes the future look bright for her and her friends. The book picks up two decades later when Meche returns home alone for her father’s funeral. It is there she runs into her old friend Sebastian which causes them to relive some memories of what really happened back in 88.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Silvia Moreno-Garcia Books

Leave a Reply