Stella Rimington
Stella Rimington is a British author of spy thriller novels. She writes the Liz Carlyle series. Rimington was the first female Director-General of MI5, which was a post she held for four years from 1992 until 1996. Prior to that, she had been working in the Security Service since 1965. During that time, she worked in all of the various fields covered by the agency, including counter-subversion, counter-espionage and counter-terrorism.

Stella Rimington made her debut as a published author in 2001 with her memoirs, entitled Open Secret: The Autobiography of the Former Director-General of MI5. In 2004, she became a novelist with the novel At Risk, which introduced her Liz Carlyle series. Below is a list of Stella Rimington’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Stella Rimington releases a new book at

Publication Order of Liz Carlyle Books

Publication Order of Manon Tyler Books

The Devil's Bargain (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

If You Like Stella Rimington Books, You’ll Love…

Stella Rimington Synopsis: Open Secret is the autobiography of the first female Director-General of MI5, Stella Rimington. She joined MI5 in 1965 on a part-time basis, while she was with her husband (who was on a post) in New Delhi. Upon returning to the United Kingdom, she became a full-time employee, and throughout her tenure there, she worked in all three branches of MI5 and became Director of each one. In 1992, she became Director-General, becoming not only the first woman to hold the position, but also the first one to be publicly named. As Director-General, she pushed for more openness in MI5.

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Stella Rimington Books

Leave a Reply