Stephen Mack Jones (Photo Credit: Lesa Ferencz)
Stephen Mack Jones is an American author of crime thriller novels. He is also a poet and playwright. Prior to becoming a novelist, he worked in advertising and marketing communications. Stephen was born in Lansing, Michigan, and now resides outside of Detroit.

Stephen Mack Jones made his debut as a novelist in 2017 with August Snow. Below is a list of Stephen Mack Jones’ books in order of when they were first released:

Get notified when Stephen Mack Jones releases a new book at

Publication Order of August Snow Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

Now What?: The Voters Have Spoken―Essays On Life After Trump(2020)Description / Buy at

If You Like Stephen Mack Jones Books, You’ll Love…

Stephen Mack Jones Synopses: August Snow by Stephen Mack Jones is the first book in the series of the same name. Tough, smart, and struggling to survive, August Snow is the embodiment of Detroit. The son of an African-American father and a Mexican-American mother, August grew up in Detroit’s Mexicantown and joined the force only to be pushed out by a conspiracy of corrupt cops and politicians. But August fought back and ended up with a $12 million wrongful dismissal settlement that left him lacking friends. He has just returned to the house he grew up in after a year away, and quickly learns he has many scores to settle.

It’s not long before he’s summoned to the palatial estate of business magnate Eleanore Paget. Powerful and manipulative, Paget wants August to investigate the increasingly unusual happenings at her private wealth management bank. But detective work is no longer August’s beat, and he turns her down. A day later, Paget is found deceased of an apparent suicide – which August isn’t buying for a second.

What begins as an inquiry into Eleanore Paget’s death soon pits August against Detroit’s most dangerous criminals, from corporate embezzlers to tattooed mercenaries.

Lives Laid Away by Stephen Mack Jones is the second book in the August Snow series. When an unidentified young Hispanic woman’s body is pulled from the Detroit River, the Wayne County coroner gives her photo to ex-police detective August Snow, insisting August ask around his native Mexicantown to see if anyone recognizes her. August’s good friend Elena, an advocate for undocumented immigrants, immediately pinpoints the girl as local teenager Isadora del Torres. It turns out Izzy isn’t the only young woman to have disappeared during an ICE raid only to turn up dead mere weeks later. Preyed upon by the law itself, the people of Mexicantown have no one to turn to but August. In a guns-blazing wild ride across Detroit, he will put his own life on the line to protect the community he loves.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Stephen Mack Jones Books

Leave a Reply