Walter Mosley is an American novelist of crime fiction and historical mystery novels. He is best known for his hardboiled detective series featuring Easy Rawlins. Mosley’s father was an African-American clerk in the U.S. Army and his mother was a personnel clerk of Russian-Jewish descent. As an only child, he used his imagination to fill the void that he would later be able to hone into his fiction career. His inspirations include Dashiell Hammett, Graham Greene and Raymond Chandler. In 1992, presidential candidate Bill Clinton named him as one of his favourite authors.

Walter Mosley became a published author at the ripe age of 34, but hasn’t stopped writing since. His first novel was Devil in a Blue Dress, published in 1990. Below is a list of Walter Mosley’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Walter Mosley releases a new book at

Publication Order of Crosstown to Oblivion Books

The Gift of Fire and On the Head of a Pin (2012)Description / Buy at
Merge and Disciple (2012)Description / Buy at
Stepping Stone and Love Machine (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Easy Rawlins Books

Devil in a Blue Dress (1990)Description / Buy at
A Red Death (1991)Description / Buy at
White Butterfly (1992)Description / Buy at
Black Betty (1994)Description / Buy at
A Little Yellow Dog (1996)Description / Buy at
Gone Fishin' (1997)Description / Buy at
Bad Boy Brawly Brown (2001)Description / Buy at
Six Easy Pieces (2003)Description / Buy at
Little Scarlet (2004)Description / Buy at
Cinnamon Kiss (2005)Description / Buy at
Blonde Faith (2007)Description / Buy at
Little Green (2013)Description / Buy at
Rose Gold (2014)Description / Buy at
Charcoal Joe (2016)Description / Buy at
Blood Grove (2021)Description / Buy at
Farewell, Amethystine (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Fearless Jones Books

Fearless Jones (2001)Description / Buy at
Fear Itself (2003)Description / Buy at
Fear of the Dark (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of King Oliver Books

Down the River unto the Sea (2018)Description / Buy at
Every Man a King (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Leonid McGill Books

The Long Fall (2009)Description / Buy at
Known to Evil (2010)Description / Buy at
Karma (2010)Description / Buy at
When the Thrill Is Gone (2011)Description / Buy at
All I Did Was Shoot My Man (2012)Description / Buy at
And Sometimes I Wonder About You (2015)Description / Buy at
Trouble Is What I Do (2020)Description / Buy at
Karma is a prequel to the series.

Publication Order of Socrates Fortlow Books

Always Outnumbered, Always Outgunned (1997)Description / Buy at
Walkin' the Dog (1999)Description / Buy at
The Right Mistake (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

RL's Dream (1995)Description / Buy at
Blue Light (1998)Description / Buy at
The Greatest (2000)Description / Buy at
The Man in My Basement (2004)Description / Buy at
47 (2005)Description / Buy at
The Wave (2005)Description / Buy at
Diablerie (2006)Description / Buy at
Fortunate Son (2006)Description / Buy at
Killing Johnny Fry (2006)Description / Buy at
The Tempest Tales (2008)Description / Buy at
The Last Days of Ptolemy Grey (2009)Description / Buy at
Parishioner (2012)Description / Buy at
Odyssey (2013)Description / Buy at
Inside a Silver Box (2015)Description / Buy at
The Further Tales of Tempest Landry (2015)Description / Buy at
John Woman (2018)Description / Buy at
Touched (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Watt’s Lion (1993)Description / Buy at
Whispers in the Dark (2000)Description / Buy at
Jack Strong (2014)Description / Buy at
Debbie Doesn't Do It Anymore (2014)Description / Buy at
Archibald Lawless, Anarchist at Large (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Futureland (2001)Description / Buy at
The Awkward Black Man (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Graphic Novels

The Thing: The Next Big Thing (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Workin' on the Chain Gang (2000)Description / Buy at
What Next (2003)Description / Buy at
Life Out of Context (2005)Description / Buy at
This Year You Write Your Novel (2007)Description / Buy at
Twelve Steps Toward Political Revelation (2011)Description / Buy at
Folding the Red Into the Black (2016)Description / Buy at
The Elements of Fiction Writing (2019)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Plays

The Fall of Heaven (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Transgressions Books

Transgressions (With: Stephen King,Lawrence Block,Anne Perry,Jeffery Deaver,Sharyn McCrumb,Ed McBain,Donald E Westlake,Bonnie Jeanne Perry,Joyce Carol Oates,John Farris) (2005)Description / Buy at
Transgressions, Vol. 2 (By: Stephen King,Lawrence Block,Ed McBain,John Farris) (2006)Description / Buy at
Transgressions, Vol. 3 (By: Anne Perry,Sharyn McCrumb,Ed McBain,Donald E Westlake,John Farris) (2006)Description / Buy at
Transgressions, Vol. 4 (By: Anne Perry,Sharyn McCrumb,Ed McBain) (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

The New Mystery(1993)Description / Buy at
The Plot Thickens(1997)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 1998(1998)Description / Buy at
A Century of Speculative Fiction from the African Diaspora(2000)Description / Buy at
Writers on Writing(2001)Description / Buy at
Writing Los Angeles(2002)Description / Buy at
The Best American Short Stories 2003(2003)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 2003(2003)Description / Buy at
Reading the Bones(2004)Description / Buy at
Dangerous Women(2005)Description / Buy at
Transgressions(2005)Description / Buy at
The Darker Mask(2008)Description / Buy at
Freedom(2009)Description / Buy at
The Civil Rights Reader(2009)Description / Buy at
Los Angeles Noir 2(2010)Description / Buy at
Black Pulp(2013)Description / Buy at
The Obama Inheritance(2017)Description / Buy at
California Schemin'(2020)Description / Buy at
Crime Hits Home(2022)Description / Buy at
New Suns 2(2023)Description / Buy at

If You Like Walter Mosley Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Walter Mosley Books

2 Responses to “Order of Walter Mosley Books”

  1. Barry Frederick King: 3 years ago

    A big help for me thank you. Getting a bit mixed up in my senior years. Been a supporter of Walter Mosley for years.


  2. Donna Wynn: 9 years ago

    Just what I needed! This list is perfect for helping me find the books I want to read, and the order I need to read them in! I’m trying to catch up on my favorite author!


Leave a Reply