Jonathan Kellerman
Jonathan Kellerman, who has a Psychology BA & Ph.D, is most famous for his books featuring child psychologist Alex Delaware. He has also written many other novels, including books revolving around Petra Connor, who is part of the “Delaware universe”. Jonathan is married to fellow author Faye Kellerman, who he has co-authored multiple books with. Their son, Jesse Kellerman, is also an author.

Jonathan Kellerman became a published author in 1981 with the non-fiction book Helping the Fearful Child. His debut novel was the first Alex Delaware novel, entitled When the Bough Breaks. It was published in 1985. Kellerman has also written various other books, both fiction and non-fiction, all of which are listed below in the order that they were written:

Get notified when Jonathan Kellerman releases a new book at

Publication Order of Alex Delaware Books


When the Bough Breaks (1985)Description / Buy at
Blood Test (1986)Description / Buy at
Over the Edge (1987)Description / Buy at
Silent Partner (1989)Description / Buy at
Time Bomb (1990)Description / Buy at
Private Eyes (1992)Description / Buy at
Devil's Waltz (1993)Description / Buy at
Bad Love (1994)Description / Buy at
Self-Defense (1994)Description / Buy at
The Web (1995)Description / Buy at
The Clinic (1996)Description / Buy at
Survival of the Fittest (1997)Description / Buy at
Monster (1999)Description / Buy at
Dr. Death (2000)Description / Buy at
Flesh and Blood (2001)Description / Buy at
The Murder Book (2002)Description / Buy at
A Cold Heart (2003)Description / Buy at
Therapy (2004)Description / Buy at
Rage (2005)Description / Buy at
Gone (2006)Description / Buy at
Obsession (2007)Description / Buy at
Compulsion (2008)Description / Buy at
Bones (2008)Description / Buy at
Evidence (2009)Description / Buy at
Deception (2009)Description / Buy at
Mystery (2011)Description / Buy at
Victims (2012)Description / Buy at
Guilt (2013)Description / Buy at
Killer (2014)Description / Buy at
Motive (2015)Description / Buy at
Breakdown (2016)Description / Buy at
Heartbreak Hotel (2017)Description / Buy at
Night Moves (2018)Description / Buy at
The Wedding Guest (2019)Description / Buy at
The Museum of Desire (2020)Description / Buy at
Serpentine (2021)Description / Buy at
City of the Dead (2022)Description / Buy at
Unnatural History (2023)Description / Buy at
The Ghost Orchid (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Petra Connor Books

Publication Order of Detective Jacob Lev Books

(with Jesse Kellerman)

The Golem of Hollywood (2013)Description / Buy at
The Golem of Paris (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Clay Edison Books

(with Jesse Kellerman)

Crime Scene (2017)Description / Buy at
A Measure of Darkness (2018)Description / Buy at
Half Moon Bay (2020)Description / Buy at
The Burning (2021)Description / Buy at
The Lost Coast (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Butcher's Theater (1988)Description / Buy at
Double Homicide (1993)Description / Buy at
The Conspiracy Club (2003)Description / Buy at
Capital Crimes (2006)Description / Buy at
True Detectives (2009)Description / Buy at
The Murderer's Daughter (2016)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Right Thing to Do (2015)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Daddy, Daddy, Can You Touch the Sky? (1994)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Alex Delaware Graphic Novels

The Web (1996)Description / Buy at
Silent Partner (2012)Description / Buy at
Monster (By: Ande Parks) (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Helping the Fearful Child (1981)Description / Buy at
Savage Spawn (1999)Description / Buy at
The Best American Crime Reporting 2008 (2008)Description / Buy at
With Strings Attached: The Art and Beauty of Vintage Guitars (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mysterious Profiles Books

Elvis Cole and Joe Pike (By: Robert Crais) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jack Taylor (By: Ken Bruen) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jack Reacher (By: Lee Child) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlie Parker (By: John Connolly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Hieronymus Bosch (By: Michael Connelly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Lincoln Rhyme (By: Jeffery Deaver) (2022)Description / Buy at
Alex Delaware (2022)Description / Buy at
Tess Monaghan (By: Laura Lippman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlie Resnick (By: John Harvey) (2022)Description / Buy at
Peter Decker and Rina Lazarus (By: Faye Kellerman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Inspector Morse (By: Colin Dexter) (2022)Description / Buy at
Dismas Hardy (By: John Lescroart) (2022)Description / Buy at
Bob Lee Swagger (By: Stephen Hunter) (2022)Description / Buy at
Aloysius X. L. Pendergast (By: Douglas Preston) (2022)Description / Buy at
Lou Boldt (By: Ridley Pearson) (2022)Description / Buy at
Spenser (By: Robert B. Parker) (2022)Description / Buy at
Charlotte and Thomas Pitt (By: Anne Perry) (2022)Description / Buy at
John Rebus (By: Ian Rankin) (2022)Description / Buy at
Mallory (By: Carol O'Connell) (2022)Description / Buy at
Jane Whitefield (By: Thomas Perry) (2022)Description / Buy at
Ian Rutledge: A Mysterious Profile (By: Charles Todd) (2022)Description / Buy at
Amos Walker (By: Loren D. Estleman) (2022)Description / Buy at
Precious Ramotswe (By: Alexander McCall Smith) (2022)Description / Buy at
Maisie Dobbs (By: Jacqueline Winspear) (2022)Description / Buy at
The Lincoln Lawyer (By: Michael Connelly) (2022)Description / Buy at
Ben Kincaid (By: William Bernhardt) (2023)Description / Buy at
Repairman Jack (By: F. Paul Wilson) (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Murder For Love(1996)Description / Buy at
Great Writers and Kids Write Mystery Stories(1996)Description / Buy at
Law and Order(1997)Description / Buy at
The Best American Mystery Stories 1997(1997)Description / Buy at
Diagnosis Dead(1999)Description / Buy at

Notes: When the Bough Breaks is also known as Shrunken Heads. The Golem of Hollywood is co-authored with Jesse Kellerman. Double Homicide and Capital Crimes were co-authored by Faye Kellerman. The Best American Crime Reporting 2008 was co-edited by Thomas H. Cook and Otto Penzler. The Clay Edison series was written with Jesse Kellerman.

If You Like Jonathan Kellerman Books, You’ll Love…

Shop Worldwide: | |

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Jonathan Kellerman Books

Leave a Reply