Steve Allen (1921-2000) was an American author, in addition to being a late night talk show host, comedian, TV personality, musician and composer and more. After starting out in radio, Allen was the first host of The Tonight Show. Allen wrote a series of mystery novels featuring himself and his wife, Jayne Meadows, as amateur sleuths (although in actuality they were ghostwritten by Walter J. Sheldon and later Robert Westbrook).

Although he had written several books prior to having any novels published, Steve Allen’s first novel was The Talk Show Murders in 1982. Below is a list of Steve Allen’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Publication Order of Steve Allen Mystery Books

The Talk Show Murders (1983)Description / Buy at
Murder In Hollywood (1988)Description / Buy at
Murder On The Glitter Box (1989)Description / Buy at
Murder in Manhattan (1990)Description / Buy at
Murder in Vegas (1991)Description / Buy at
The Murder Game (1993)Description / Buy at
Murder On The Atlantic (1995)Description / Buy at
Wake Up To Murder (1997)Description / Buy at
Die Laughing (1998)Description / Buy at
Murder In Hawaii (1999)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

The Public Hating (1955)Description / Buy at
Fourteen for Tonight (1955)Description / Buy at
Wry on the Rocks, A Collection of Poems (1956)Description / Buy at
The Girls On The 10th Floor And Other Stories (1958)Description / Buy at
The Man Who Turned Back the Clock (1995)Description / Buy at
Tasting The Fruit (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Funny Men (1956)Description / Buy at
Mark it and Strike it: An Autobiography (1961)Description / Buy at
Curses (1973)Description / Buy at
Schmock-Schmock! (1975)Description / Buy at
Funny People (1981)Description / Buy at
Beloved Son (1982)Description / Buy at
More Funny People (1982)Description / Buy at
How to Make a Speech (1986)Description / Buy at
How to Be Funny (1987)Description / Buy at
Dumbth (1989)Description / Buy at
Meeting Of The Minds 4 Volume Boxed Set (1989)Description / Buy at
Steve Allen on the Bible, Religion and Morality (1990)Description / Buy at
Hi Ho Steverino (1992)Description / Buy at
More Steve Allen on the Bible, Religion and Morality (1992)Description / Buy at
Make 'Em Laugh (1993)Description / Buy at
Steve Allen Songbook (1994)Description / Buy at
Reflections (1994)Description / Buy at
But Seriously... (1996)Description / Buy at
Steve Allen's Private Joke File (2000)Description / Buy at

If You Like Steve Allen Books, You’ll Love…

Steve Allen Synopses: In Murder on the Glitter Box by Steve Allen (book 3 in the Steve Allen Mysteries series), Steve Allen has agreed to step into the breach when Terry Cole, king of the late-night talk shows, takes a much-needed vacation. But he gets more than he bargained for when one of his guests drops dead on stage – and suddenly, Steve is in the middle of a sensational murder case.

Murder in Vegas by Steve Allen is book 5 in the Steve Allen Mysteries series. While rehearsing a routine with legendary crooner Buddy Hamilton, Steve Allen is shocked to discover that Buddy’s glamorous young wife, Christie, has been strangled in a sauna.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Steve Allen Books

Leave a Reply