Torey Hayden is an American author of fiction and non-fiction books, relating to child psychology. As such, she is a child psychologist, as well as a special ed. teacher and university lecturer. Her non-fiction works are from her real-life experiences dealing with traumatized children. She deals with such issues as autism, Tourette syndrome, sexual abuse, fetal alcohol syndrome, and her speciality of selective mutism (formerly known as elective mutism). Torey is divorced with one daughter, Sheena.

Torey Hayden made her debut as a published author in 1980 with the non-fiction book One Child. Her fiction debut came in 1984 with the novel The Sunflower Forest. Below is a list of Torey Hayden’s books in order of when they were originally released:

Get notified when Torey L. Hayden releases a new book at

Publication Order of Sheila Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Sunflower Forest (1984)Description / Buy at
Overheard in a Dream (1996)Description / Buy at
The Very Worst Thing (2003)Description / Buy at
Innocent Foxes (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Ziji: The Puppy Who Learned to Meditate (With: Yongey Mingyur) (2009)Description / Buy at
Ziji and the Very Scary Man (With: Yongey Mingyur) (2018)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Somebody Else's Kids (1981)Description / Buy at
Murphy's Boy / Silent Boy (1983)Description / Buy at
Just Another Kid (1988)Description / Buy at
Ghost Girl (1991)Description / Buy at
Beautiful Child (2002)Description / Buy at
Twilight Children (2005)Description / Buy at
Teaching Children Who Are Hard to Reach: Relationship-Driven Classroom Practice (2012)Description / Buy at
Lost Child (2019)Description / Buy at
The Invisible Girl (2021)Description / Buy at

Notes: The Ziji picture books are written with Yongey Mingyur Rinpoche. Murphy’s Boy was also published as Silent Boy.

If You Like Torey Hayden Books, You’ll Love…

Torey Hayden Synopsis: Just Another Kid contains remarkable stories of six traumatized children who appeared to be hopeless to some and the incredible teacher who would break through their shells. Torey Hayden faced six emotionally troubled kids no other teacher could make any headway with – three recent arrivals from troubled Northern Ireland, badly traumatized by the horrors of war; eleven-year-old Dirkie, who only knew of life inside an institution; excitable Mariana, aggressive and sexually precocious at the age of eight; and seven-year-old Leslie, perhaps the most hopeless of all, unresponsive and unable to speak.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Torey Hayden Books

Leave a Reply