Tracy Gardner is an American author of cozy mystery novels. She writes the Avery Ayers Antique Mysteries series and the Shepherd Sisters Mysteries series. She has been nominated for an Edgar Award for her novel Ruby Red Herring. Tracy is originally from Detroit, and now resides in Florida. She has three children and a menagerie of pets. She also writes women’s fiction as Jess Sinclair.

Tracy Gardner made her debut as a novelist under this name in 2019 with the novel Out of the Picture. Previously, she had been published as Tracy Gardner Beno in 2014. Below is a list of Tracy Gardner’s books in order of when they were originally published:

Get notified when Tracy Gardner releases a new book at

Publication Order of Avery Ayers Antique Mystery Books

Ruby Red Herring (2021)Description / Buy at
Peril at Pennington Manor (2022)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Shepherd Sisters Mysteries Books

Out of the Picture (2019)Description / Buy at
Behind the Frame (2020)Description / Buy at
Still Life and Death (2021)Description / Buy at

If You Like Tracy Gardner Books, You’ll Love…

Tracy Gardner Synopses: Ruby Red Herring by Tracy Gardner is the first book in her Avery Ayers Antique Mystery series. Avery Ayers finds herself thrust into a world of mystery and danger after taking over her family’s business, Antiquities & Artifacts Appraised. With offices in Lilac Grove and Manhattan, Avery is surrounded by rare treasures, art, and the intrigue of the antiquities world. But her life takes a dramatic turn when she discovers a connection between a priceless stolen ruby and the untimely deaths of her parents.

When the Museum of Antiquities hires Avery to appraise a magnificent ruby, she realizes that it bears a striking resemblance to a missing stone from the museum’s prized Xiang Dynasty bejeweled dragon medallion exhibit. As Avery and her colleagues, the ostentatious Sir Robert Lane and the fatherly Micah Abbott, investigate further, they suspect that they may have stumbled upon the missing gem. However, the case becomes increasingly complex and dangerous.

A security guard named Art Smith seems to be everywhere, but Avery begins to question his true motives. As the investigation unfolds, another body is discovered, and Avery receives cryptic and threatening messages that put her life at risk.

Determined to uncover the truth about her parents’ deaths and the stolen ruby, Avery enlists the help of Art, who may be a potential ally. Together, they must navigate a web of suspects, including art collector Oliver Renell, curator Nate Brennan, acquisitions liaison Francesca Giolitti, and actor Tyler Chadwick. As Avery delves deeper into the investigation, she realizes that the culprit may be closer than she ever imagined. Lilac Grove, the picturesque town she calls home, becomes the backdrop for a deadly game, and Avery’s life hangs in the balance.

Out of the Picture is the first book in the Shepherd Sisters Mysteries series from novelist Tracy Gardner. Savanna Shepherd possesses a unique talent as a former art authenticator—an ability to uncover hidden secrets and discern the real from the counterfeit. Seeking solace after a painful breakup, she returns to her picturesque hometown nestled along the shores of Lake Michigan. Reconnecting with her sisters and embracing her new role as a grade school art teacher brings her a sense of contentment.

As Savanna settles into her familiar surroundings, she stumbles upon an opportunity to reignite her creative spirit when an old family friend commissions her to paint a mural. However, what begins as a seemingly simple project soon takes a dark and mysterious turn. Strange and unsettling events unfold at the woman’s mansion, compelling Savanna to delve deeper into the enigma that shrouds the estate.

Driven by her curiosity and aided by her sisters, Savanna embarks on an investigation to uncover the truth behind the unsettling incidents. Along the way, she finds herself drawn to Aidan, the intriguing town doctor, who becomes an unexpected ally in her quest for answers.

As she unravels the mysteries surrounding the mansion, Savanna must navigate the shadows of deceit and uncover the secrets hidden within the artwork. With the support of her sisters and the growing connection with Aidan, she strives to unravel the truth that lies beneath the surface.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Tracy Gardner Books

Leave a Reply