Valerie V.M. Burns is an American author who writes cozy mysteries and children’s books. She is best known for her series are the Mystery Bookshop series and the A Dog Club Mystery series.

In addition to her work as a writer, Burns is also the Operations Manager at a call center for an appliance manufacturer. She is seemingly always writing and working, and even writes screenplays. Burns graduated from Northwestern University in Evanston, Illinois with a Bachelor of Arts Degree in Political Science and Urban Studies. Valerie went on to get her Master of Science in Administration from the University of Notre Dame and a Master of Fine Arts in Writing Popular Fiction from Seton Hill University.

Get notified when V.M. Burns releases a new book at

Publication Order of Dog Club Mystery Books

In the Dog House (2018)Description / Buy at
The Puppy Who Knew Too Much (2019)Description / Buy at
Bark If It's Murder (2019)Description / Buy at
Paw and Order (2020)Description / Buy at
Sit, Stay, Slay (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Mystery Bookshop Books

The Plot Is Murder (2017)Description / Buy at
Read Herring Hunt (2018)Description / Buy at
The Novel Art of Murder (2018)Description / Buy at
Wed, Read & Dead (2019)Description / Buy at
Bookmarked for Murder (2019)Description / Buy at
A Tourist's Guide to Murder (2021)Description / Buy at
Killer Words (2021)Description / Buy at
Bookclubbed to Death (2022)Description / Buy at
Murder on Tour (2023)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of RJ Franklin Mystery Books

Travellin' Shoes (2018)Description / Buy at
Motherless Child (2019)Description / Buy at
Steal Away (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

The Vermeer Conspiracy (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

If You Like Valerie V.M. Burns Books, You’ll Love…

The Plot is Murder is the first book in the Mystery Bookshop series. The book follows Samantha Washington who has always had dreams of owning her own bookstore and she is on the precipice of that dream coming true. She’s also working towards her other dream of writing her own cozy mystery. As she writes of murder and case solving, a murder happens in her own backyard and she is the top suspect. Samantha decides to take a page from her lead character and start investigating to clear her name with the help of her feisty grandmother and her retired friends.

The first book in the A Dog Club Mystery series is called In the Dog House. The story starts with Lily who is losing a husband, but gaining a toy poodle named Aggie. Her husband had been cheating so she considers this a win-win, but when her ex turns up dead and she is the number-one suspect – things get complicated. Lilly is determined to clear her name with help from her friends, but when a second murder occurs she soon realizes that there is more to this story than just her ex.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Valerie V.M. Burns Books

Leave a Reply