Virigina C. Andrews (1923-1986) was an American novelist who wrote gothic horror novels involving families. . Her most famous work is Flowers in the Attic.

V.C. Andrews made her literary debut in 1972 with a sci-fi novel Gods of Green Mountain. Ever since her passing in 1986, her novels have been ghostwritten by Andrew Neiderman, which started with Garden of Shadows. Below is a list of V.C. Andrews’ books in order of when they were originally published:

Publication Order of Audrina Books

Publication Order of Broken Wings Books

Publication Order of Casteel Books

Publication Order of Cutler Books

Dawn (1990)Description / Buy at
Secrets of the Morning (1991)Description / Buy at
Twilight's Child (1992)Description / Buy at
Midnight Whispers (1992)Description / Buy at
Darkest Hour (1993)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of De Beers Books

Publication Order of Delia Books

Delia's Crossing (2008)Description / Buy at
Delia's Heart (2008)Description / Buy at
Delia's Gift (2009)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Dollanganger Books

Flowers in the Attic (1979)Description / Buy at
Petals on the Wind (1980)Description / Buy at
If There Be Thorns (1981)Description / Buy at
Seeds of Yesterday (1984)Description / Buy at
Garden of Shadows (1986)Description / Buy at
Christopher's Diary: Secrets of Foxworth (2014)Description / Buy at
Christopher's Diary: Echoes of Dollanganger (2015)Description / Buy at
Secret Brother (2015)Description / Buy at
Beneath the Attic (2019)Description / Buy at
Out of the Attic (2020)Description / Buy at
The Shadows of Foxworth (2020)Description / Buy at
Note that Book 6 onwards are by other authors writing under the V.C. Andrews name.

Publication Order of Early Spring Books

Broken Flower (2006)Description / Buy at
Scattered Leaves (2007)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Eden Books

Publication Order of Gemini Books

Publication Order of Heavenstone Books

The Heavenstone Secrets (2008)Description / Buy at
Secret Whispers (2010)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of House of Secrets Books

House of Secrets (2018)Description / Buy at
Echoes in the Walls (2018)Description / Buy at
Whispering Hearts (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Hudson Books

Rain (2000)Description / Buy at
Lightning Strikes (2000)Description / Buy at
Eye of the Storm (2000)Description / Buy at
The End of the Rainbow (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Kindred Books

Daughter of Darkness (2010)Description / Buy at
Daughter of Light (2012)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Landry Books

Publication Order of Logan Books

Publication Order of Orphans Books

Publication Order of Secrets Books

Secrets in the Attic (1997)Description / Buy at
Secrets in the Shadows (2008)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Shadows Books

April Shadows (2005)Description / Buy at
Girl in the Shadows (2006)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Shooting Stars Books

Publication Order of Storms Books

Publication Order of Sutherland Books

Losing Spring (2023)Description / Buy at
Chasing Endless Summer (2024)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Forbidden Books

Forbidden Sister (2013)Description / Buy at
The Forbidden Heart (2013)Description / Buy at
Roxy's Story (2013)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Girls of Spindrift Books

Publication Order of The Mirror Sisters Books

The Mirror Sisters (2016)Description / Buy at
Broken Glass (2017)Description / Buy at
Shattered Memories (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of The Umbrella Books

The Umbrella Lady (2021)Description / Buy at
Out of the Rain (2021)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Wildflowers Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Gods of Green Mountain (2004)Description / Buy at
Into the Darkness (2012)Description / Buy at
Capturing Angels (2012)Description / Buy at
The Unwelcomed Child (2014)Description / Buy at
Bittersweet Dreams (2015)Description / Buy at
Sage's Eyes (2016)Description / Buy at
The Silhouette Girl (2019)Description / Buy at
Becoming My Sister (2022)Description / Buy at

Note: Following Virginia Andrews’ death in 1986, all V.C. Andrews novels were ghostwritten by Andrew Neiderman.

If You Like V.C. Andrews Books, You’ll Love…

Order of Books » Authors » Order of V.C. Andrews Books

7 Responses to “Order of V.C. Andrews Books”

  1. Dreama: 2 months ago

    Love all the books. I wait for the next one to be published. I wish there was a complete list of all the ones published since she passed away.

    Thanks for keeping her name and her books going.


  2. A: 2 years ago

    Need to start going back to the old writing style from the real vcs andrews. I have been dreading the more recent ones from around 2020 and up and i hate to say i have been disappointed. Go back to the old style of writing please


  3. Carolyn: 2 years ago

    I first saw Flowers in the Attic years ago. Then I was in book store and saw V.C. Andrews book Flowers in the Attic (read it) after that I started reading her books. read them in order and can.t wait till the next book comes out.


  4. Ruth Price: 3 years ago

    Love her Book and Movie 1 movie


  5. Ellen B: 5 years ago

    I have every one of the V C Andrews books and can hardly wait to see if there will be another one. I started reading them when they first came out and I am now 72 and can’t wait. I hope there is another one soon.


    • Elizabeth Gifford Baumann: 5 years ago

      Love her books too!!
      What is the best order to read each series? Does each “family” need to be read in a certain order?


      • Rachel: 1 year ago

        Makes better sense if you read them in order


Leave a Reply