Veronica Chambers is an author with a very diverse profile of books. In 2012, she had her first big hit as she co-wrote Marcus Samuelsson’s memoir Yes, Chef, a book that won a James Beard award and appeared on the New York Times bestseller list. Later in 2017, she edited a collection of essays on Michelle Obama that was also quite successful. She has written non-fiction, books for younger readers and also published her own novels.

One of Chambers’ most popular works is her own memoir Mama’s Girl. The book tells her of time growing in a black Caribbean immigrant family. The family’s life is fraught with financial hardship, but is lifted by the camaraderie of the strong Spanish-speaking black women. The book’s tales of the harrowing and violent domestic warfare of this life is truly mesmerizing.

Get notified when Veronica Chambers releases a new book at

Publication Order of Amigas Books

Lights, Camera, Quince! (2010)Description / Buy at
Fifteen Candles (2010)Description / Buy at
She's Got Game (2010)Description / Buy at
Playing for Keeps (2011)Description / Buy at
A Formal Affair (2011)Description / Buy at
Point Me to Tomorrow (2011)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Marisol and Magdalena Books

Marisol and Magdalena (1998)Description / Buy at
Quinceanera Means Sweet Fifteen (2001)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Mama's Girl (1996)Description / Buy at
When Did You Stop Loving Me (2004)Description / Buy at
Miss Black America (2005)Description / Buy at
Plus (2009)Description / Buy at
The Go-Between (2017)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

The Harlem Renaissance (1995)Description / Buy at
Having It All? (2003)Description / Buy at
The Joy of Doing Things Badly (2006)Description / Buy at
Kickboxing Geishas (2007)Description / Buy at
The Meaning of Michelle (2017)Description / Buy at
Resist (2018)Description / Buy at
Queen Bey (2019)Description / Buy at
Finish the Fight! (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Picture Books

Amistad Rising (1998)Description / Buy at
Double Dutch (2002)Description / Buy at
Celia Cruz, Queen of Salsa (2005)Description / Buy at
Shirley Chisholm is a Verb! (2020)Description / Buy at

Publication Order of Anthologies

Body(2000)Description / Buy at
The Bitch in the House(2002)Description / Buy at
Women Writing Resistance: Essays on Latin America and the Caribbean(2003)Description / Buy at
The Bitch Is Back(2016)Description / Buy at
On Being 40(2019)Description / Buy at
Modern Love: True Stories of Love, Loss, and Redemption(2019)Description / Buy at

If You Like Veronica Chambers Books, You’ll Love…

The Go-Between is a popular coming-of-age novel from Chambers. The book follows Cammi who is the envy of every girl in Mexico City. The daughter of a famous actress and a voice-over talent, she is living the life of fame and excess. Her whole life is turned upside down though when her mom is cast on an American television show and the family moves to Los Angeles. In LA, she’s just another girl as her mom’s fame does not crossover into the US. The kids at school think Cammi is a scholarship kid and she plays along, but is she fooling them or herself?

Chambers’ debut novel was called Miss Black America. This book tells the story of young Angela as she grows up in Brooklyn during the 1970s. The girl has two parents living at home until one day she comes home to find her mother disappeared. Angela is left to be raised alone by her father and struggles with the loss of her mother as she grows up.

Order of Books » Authors » Order of Veronica Chambers Books

Leave a Reply